#MicroblogMonday – No tubes tied for me

A month ago I went to the gynecologist to discuss getting my tubes tied*. I was waiting for the doctor to get back to me about my endometriosis surgery back in 2009 as I couldn’t remember what was, or wasn’t, found. It turns out I did have some endometriosis and an endometrioma (cyst) removed. I’m quite bummed about not being a good candidate for going hormone free. The doctor said, that not only could stopping hormonal birth control possibly allow the endometriosis to grow/form again, and because of my age, if I had to re-start hormonal birth control again, it could cause more health issues such as blood clots (and whatever else she said), than if I were to just continue with it.

The Nuva Ring is a good birth control option for me to continue with or I can switch to the Mirena IUD. Both are low in hormones, plus they are mostly localized to the uterus/ovary area. The Nuva Ring is easy and I basically only have to deal with it twice a month. But I still have to deal with it. I have had a copper IUD before and Holy F! was it painful to get it inserted. It might have had to do with the fact that I hadn’t had kids yet, or it just is painful. Also, the IUD strings were the wrong length and they poked Mr Siili when we were intimate, which wasn’t too pleasant for him. With the Mirena, I was told that most women’s periods go away after some time. (I bet mine won’t. They like to be very regular.) I would still be able to use tampons and the IUD lasts for up to 5 years.

I’m going to give the Mirena IUD a try. The thought of less bleeding and not having to deal with birth control for several years won out. It will also be quite a bit cheaper. Just under 200€ for the IUD compared to 45€ ever 3 months for the ring. Now I wait for my appointment in a month to get it inserted.

*Actually it was getting Essure mico-implants put in the tubes to scar the tubes so that eggs can’t pass through, thus not get pregnant.)

MicroblogMonday For more microposts, go visit Mel’s post at Stirrup Queens.

5 thoughts on “#MicroblogMonday – No tubes tied for me

  1. After spending so much time getting pregnant, I have to laugh at the hoops we have to jump through to prevent pregnancy (again). I have a different issue from you, so Mirena was out for me (hormones + suspected clotting disorder = no-no), but I did get a Cooper IUD inserted and have been happy with it. I am surprised you have to pay for it, though, given how progressive the Scandinavian countries have been with family planning and family support.

    • Ironic, I know. 😉 It is a minimal fee, in my opinion. I will pay ~40€ for the public Dr, like usual. And I pay for the IUD myself. The IUD would be 40% reimbursed, if I was going to a private Dr, which costs more. We are charged for things, but usually cheaper. IVF was much cheaper, imo. Especially after my work insurance paid some of the costs. I won’t complain about the monthly fees or hikes, I’ve used my share and more.

  2. Ok, so I can’t relate to any of this because I only ever used BCPs and obviously I don’t need those now. But… I’m glad you got your options laid out and have a plan in place. And… I kind of had to give Chris that visual of the incorrect length of IUD strings… ow.

  3. It always sucks when choices are taken away from you.

    I’m pretty much stuck with high-dose progestin (with a side of estrogen-inhibitor) because my body sucks. Even regular BCP is too much estrogen for my endometriosis. On the plus side, I haven’t had a period in 5 years, so I’ll take the pills every day and be glad for it.

  4. I had a mirena (though after a year mine fell out and then I got pregnant and now I have 3 kids… ) and the packaging says only ~30% of women end up with no period. Mine was much lighter though. Also you can trim the strings yourself if you want to.

What do you think?

