MicroblogMonday – Mushrooms

This weekend while we were out and about walking as a family, Paxlet and I quickly stepped into the forest (more of a copse these days) on Saturday, before lunch, and Sunday, before bedtime, and found chantarelles! I picked and he supported me. Saturday, we found more than I could carry in my hand and we didn’t have any container, so we used his hoodie. It tickled him to be of use in that way. Sunday, we happened to have their tiny red toy bucket with us. At first we didn’t find any and were ready to head home when I found some big blueberries! I picked just over a half bucket of those (3 cups?). As we were leaving the forest, we found the mother load of chanterelles. I topped off the bucket and carried the rest home in a Kleenex.

mush

We found about 2,5 liters ( 10 cups?) each day. I cleaned them, roughly chopped them and popped them in freezer bags for future use.

MicroblogMonday For more microposts, go visit Mel’s post at Stirrup Queens.

10 thoughts on “MicroblogMonday – Mushrooms

  1. Yum! Whenever I see mushrooms I think it would be nice to know what are the edible ones and take them home. Of course the ones growing in people’s yards or in the park probably aren’t.

  2. Oh wow! Lol I would NEVER know the difference between poisonous and edible mushrooms. So… freezing them.. what do you use them in then?

  3. Yum. A few years ago we were in Poland in the early autumn, and I was amazed at the number of people I saw out gathering mushrooms. It’s not something we see in NZ at all. I love the idea of gathering food from the land.

  4. We lived for about six or seven years in northern Sweden, in a small skogsbyn (forest village). The mushrooms were incredible – Chanterelles we never found though our neighbours had bags full at times. We always went for the Cepes/Seinpiltz variety, wonderful dried and preserved for cooking and huge size generally. Also lingon & blueberries in season. Miss the place now we’re in SW France. Considering a move to Finland, maybe…..

What do you think?

