Book Review – I Wish My Teacher Knew by Kyle Schwartz

I love to read. And I love the idea of reading books that haven’t yet made it to the (virtual) shelves at bookstores. So, a few months ago I signed up at Netgalley where it is possible to browse through the list of books they have and see if any of them catch your attention. Then you send a request saying you’d like to read that book*. If your request is accepted, you can download the book to whatever device you’d like and read away. The only catch is that you need to write a(n honest) review of the book after you have read it. In my opinion, a review is a minor task to do in return for getting to read a new book. I need to work on my review writing skills. Practice makes perfect better right?

*****

The most recent book I read was I Wish My Teacher Knew by Kyle Schwartz. I’m not a teacher, but I really liked this book. I Wish My Teacher Knew is a book about how you, as an educator (in any role, I don’t believe you have to be a teacher only), can show your students that you care about them and that they matter. It had some thought-provoking ideas on how you can get kids engaged in your classroom. Not just with learning, but also when new students arrive and current ones leave, how to involve your students’ family and getting the students excited about something, anything are some examples. The explanations, studies and stories Kyle gives for each chapter/section were interesting and made me think about how most of these can be easily implemented in ones own classroom.

I definitely recommend this book to others, especially if you are a teacher or work with kids/students in a learning environment.

*There are sometimes restrictions on who can read a book, such as your physical location or you’re just not the type they are looking for.

What do you think?

