#MicroblogMonday – Only four more weeks

Happy 4th of July to all my readers. And Happy Independence Day to my American readers!

*****

That’s how little I have left before I head back to work and the kids start/go back to daycare. This is my last few weeks of parental leave and being a full time stay at home mom*. I am not having any more kids (waiting for my tubal surgery date) and as such, I don’t see any more long periods of being at home with the kids in my future. I like being home with my kids, even if I am frazzled and exhausted by bedtime most days. I’m just not ready to go back to work.

This time around, I’m not as panicked and worried about leaving Paxlet at daycare and going back to work as I was when I left Paxlet for the first time. For him, this will be normal and routine going back to the same daycare lady.  For Tadbit, this will be here first time going to daycare, but she has seen this lady almost every day of her life and knows her well enough. Plus, her big brother will be there with her. I am preparing that my heart will break if she cries, but I’m not worried about it.

I’ve been so lucky to be home as long as I have with my kids (1 year and 5 months, this time), but where has time time gone? Time goes by so quickly and the kids grow up so fast. Why can’t I make some parts of life go in slow motion?

*I’m not sure if I really qualify as a stay at home mom, because I have had and do have a job waiting for me when “it’s time” to head back.
MicroblogMonday For more microposts, go visit Mel’s post at Stirrup Queens.

6 thoughts on “#MicroblogMonday – Only four more weeks

  1. It truly is wonderful that you’ve had the time to be with your kids. The US is terrible anout this, which really does need to be changed.

    May the last 4 weeks be sweet ones and the transition back to work smooth.

  2. Enjoy these last four weeks! I’ll be making the transition to part-time stay-at-home-mom in September, and after more than two years, I have mixed feelings about it. It’s lovely to be able to stay home with your kids, but also important not to lose the adult part of yourself. I hope this transition will be good for all of you!

  3. Good luck for the transition! I found it really hard when I first went back to work when SB was 2.5 months old (we lived in the US at the time). It didn’t help that our first 2 nanny arrangements fell through on short notice, so we didn’t have any time to get to know the person taking care of our daughter… A few months later we moved to Europe, and I stayed home with SB for another few months. That time we had a 2 week transition to daycare, and I was much more relaxed about it.
    It’s awesome that you get such a long leave! I did find job hunting while being a sort of stay-at-home-mom a bit stressful.

  4. I can imagine how you wouldn’t be looking forward to heading back to work after almost a year and a half but I’m sure that both kids will flourish in daycare! Enjoy your last month!

  5. Eeeek. This is a huge step! I’m glad your babies have each other when it comes time for daycare. I hope these lasts few weeks are filled with fun and family for you upon your return to work.

What do you think?

