#MicroblogMonday – Candy Land

I found a much used Candy Land board game at the flea market today. It was only 2,50€! I loved playing this game as a kid and I was so excited to introduce it to Paxlet. Unfortunately it was missing 10 of the cards. You know, like, all of the special picture cards that drop you on a specific spot on the board: Gumdrop Mountains, Peppermint Forest, Peanut Brittle House, etc.
I did return it and get my money back, but I’m so bummed! We wanted to play the game.

What’s a game you liked as a kid?

candyland
MicroblogMonday For more microposts, go visit Mel’s post at Stirrup Queens.

7 thoughts on “#MicroblogMonday – Candy Land

    • I only ever once, maybe, played Operation. Sorry was fun and I already have that in the Finnish version (Kimble). I already took the game back, but I did think of making the cards…too much bother.

  1. That’s such a bummer! Candy Land is a wonderful game. Also Shoots and Ladders, Clue, Hi-Hoe Cherry-O and Hungry, hungry hippo. I wasn’t a fan of Sorry either. Monopoly was only fun when the players were evenly matched.

    • Clue was fun, but I sucked at it. We have a slightly different version that we like here (Kill Dr Lucky). I have a travel Hungry, hungry hippo that I haven’t brought out yet. And Monopoly….only fun when it isn’t played seriously. The last time I played it was when I was 14 or so.

  2. My siblings and I loved Memory, a game called Parcheesi (I think it’s like Sorry! but I never played Sorry!), Battleship, Uno, and Monopoly although we never (and I do mean NEVER) finished a game…… I bought Candylane for my kiddos and it was a hit, but we have such age differences, it’s hard to play (the little guy (just turned 2 yesterday) tries to grab and eat the pieces and the oldest (16) thinks it’s lame, of course).

  3. Candyland!!! I loved that game. Let’s see, we had a lot of board games growing up. I loved Sorry!, Monopoly, Chutes and Ladders, Crocodile Dentist, and Chinese Checkers.

What do you think?

