Gone too soon

I got a FB message this morning from my ex that a mutual friend of ours from high school committed suicide yesterday. I haven’t spoken to this guy in years, but my heart is still saddened. He was a kind soul and truly wanted to change our world. Depression got the better of him.

My mom once told me*, everyone has a purpose in this life. We may not know what it is, but it’s still there. (Maybe one person’s purpose is to learn to get along better with their mom. Another person’s  would be to change the world.) And for those who decide to leave us before their “natural” time, maybe they have completed their purpose of what they are here to do. We won’t ever know, but maybe that is why they had to leave too early.

I find my mom’s words/concept soothing. It doesn’t take away the grief, but it does help me with the loss. In this case though, I’m struggling with his passing. Honestly, I’m not sure why I’m so sad. It isn’t like I’ve seen or talked to him in years (except for a line or two of text on FB). But, he is a past/former/previous life (when I lived in the US) friend. And when it all comes down to the bare minimal, it is just that: The loss, of a friend, too soon.

 

*I hope I’m doing her explanation/belief justice.

6 thoughts on “Gone too soon

  1. Suicide horrifies us because it’s the most radical thought there is.

    We’re hard-wired to survive. “Life is good” is an idea that’s ingrained in our genes. When a person kills themselves, they rebel against nature.

    I don’t believe there is a grand purpose to all of this. We’re all just chemicals reacting to other chemicals. The thing is, we humans are too smart for our own good. We have to create meaning in our life or exit it. Just as we have the power to give life meaning, we also have the power to override this instinct and exit life. Both desires are valid. If you think suicide is wrong, then logically you also think you’re entitled to other people’s bodies.

    • Interesting view point. I don’t think suicide is wrong, I have had a time in life when I thought that was the answer for me (it wasn’t). No matter how a person leaves this world, it is going to affect someone and most someones will be sad in some way. I am.

What do you think?

