#MicroblogMonday – I experimented so you didn’t have to

I’m all about my 5 minute (or less) microwave mug cakes and cookies. They are dangerously quick, easy to make and pretty tasty too. I also all about making a double batch of cookie dough, baking a few cookies and then prepping the rest of the dough into cookie size balls and freezing them. Then all I have to do is take them out of the freezer, thaw the dough a tiny bit and I’m ready with freshly baked cookies with no mess or hassle.

This evening I got the idea in my head to thaw one of the cookie dough balls a very tiny bit and eat it raw. I thawed it a bit too much, but I ate the gooey thing anyway. Yum! That put the idea in my head to see how these cookie balls, meant for the oven, would cook in the microwave… I just had to sacrifice two more cookie dough balls for this experiment. The first I cooked in the microwave for 30 seconds, but it over cooked and burned the bottom half of the cookie. Blech! Burnt cookie smell anyone? I only ate the top half, after it cooled down. The 2nd (really the 3rd, by now) cookie ball I zapped for 10 seconds and it was perfectly raw and gooey.

Lesson learned. I’ll either cook these in the oven or make sure I carefully thaw them only a tiny bit in the microwave.

MicroblogMonday For more microposts, go visit Mel’s post at Stirrup Queens.

12 thoughts on “#MicroblogMonday – I experimented so you didn’t have to

  1. Did you try reducing the power when cooking your cookies? Little bit longer time for cooking, but may work.

    Would be interesting to make a combination microwave cookie recipe where you can freeze the dough.

    • I didn’t change my microwave settings in any way…that might have helped some. 😀
      The microwave cookies are quite quick to make, so freezing them might be silly? But, even better, truly!, is making a double batch of regular cookies and then freezing them portioned up. Then you can eat and bake as your heart pleases. (I baked more this evening…and ate one frozen.)

  2. i have always meant to try the mug cakes, but just haven’t gotten around to it. must do so. and i have also never tried freezing cookie dough.. another thing to try. thanks for the inspiration!

  3. OMG I could have written this (although I haven’t eaten mug-cakes for a wee while) they’re such a good way of hitting the sugar craves without left-over baking singing sirensong from its tin.
    Freezing cooking dough started from the lactation cookies recipe I had, as it made heaps. I’ve been trying out a 100biscuits recipe (butterheavy/sugar relatively light) and not sold although I still have about 40 still in the freezer to bake. There is a delicious cranberry and white chocolate recipe which, when frozen, can be eaten frozen (with a slight bicarb aftertaste) . The other doughs, not so much.
    I love that you still ate what you could of the burnt cookie. I think we could be friends!

    • I also have some lactation cookies in my freezer, already baked and only for me (no one, aka hubby, knows they are there!). I will continue to make them even when done bf’ing, as they are yummy! All other cookies, I freeze in dough form. I also make peanut butter cookie dough. I am sure there are others, but my mind is blank atm.
      LOL, Yes, I did eat what I could..why waste the perfectly good part?

  4. I love your idea of freezing the cookie dough, pre-shaped. With only two of us, a whole batch of cookies (or biscuits as we say here) is too much for us, but if I could freeze them it would be perfect!

    Though now I kinda want beanie’s lemon mug cake recipe.

  5. Ooooh, never thought about baking in the microwave beyond the mug cake recipe you sent me that time. I will say that I bake a lot and freeze the cookies. And then I just take out one or two and thaw them for an hour on the counter. You can’t tell that they’ve been frozen after about 60 minutes.

What do you think?

