#MicroblogMonday – On the other side

I remembered, then forgot, remembered again, forgot once more and then it just became pointless to write a “MicroblogMonday on Thursday” post. I set an alarm on my phone to remind me today is Monday and that I want to blog. The alarm went off hours ago and I almost forgot again.
Anyway, on to what I really wanted to say.

Tadbit will soon be 10 months old (and Paxlet 3 years 5 months old). I am so done having kids. I was ecstatic beyond words when Paxlet was born. I would have been happy to have him as an only child, I told myself. Because, you know, I finally got to be a parent like I wanted. And then along came our little surprise. A sibling for our Paxlet. And now I can say with 100% honesty, the two of them have made me complete*.

Now, each month when AF is due to arrive, I find myself a little anxiously waiting for her to show up (and then immediately go away once confirmation has been made). Especially when we haven’t used any protection and last month when I was two days late! I did go get myself the Nuvaring, (even if I did say I’d not use hormonal birth control again) until my sterilization (tubal?) surgery happens sometime later this year.

I can’t believe I am on the other side of the IF bridge/journey. I’m not sure I ever imagined myself here. Yet, here I am.

*Plus, I feel too old to go through pregnancy and early baby days again.

MicroblogMonday For more microposts, go visit Mel’s post at Stirrup Queens.

7 thoughts on “#MicroblogMonday – On the other side

  1. I’m so far past done, too, and it’s an odd feeling especially when I’m still surrounded by people actively trying to build their families.

  2. Isn’t it bizarre to have this realization? I still struggle with this feeling because we so much time and effort to expand our family and now we’re terrified of it getting any bigger (because that isn’t what is good for us). So strange to be on the other side.

  3. It’s hard for me to imagine feeling this. I think I’ve been stuck in the IF world for so long that I haven’t yet switched over. Of course, we still want another but only God knows if that will ever happen. Maybe I will get to feel like you do someday?

  4. This is why I keep hoping that this pregnancy is around for the long haul. I am so ready to be DONE with infertility and not knowing if we will complete our family or not. My husband turns 40 in June and I just turned 37 so I’m on the older end for having kids as it is. Most of my college friends have kids in middle school so they are way beyond me. I won’t sterilize myself as i have heard of the various hormonal issues that can come with that and after a second c-section I don’t need any more uterine surgeries….is your husband unwilling to get snipped (an easier procedure)? I think that I may go the birth control route….maybe the one where you only get your period 4 times a year.

What do you think?

