Thanksgiving

This year I hosted my first ever Thanksgiving. Yes, hosted. my friends and I already celebrated it this evening, one day early. It only took me 16 years to have a turkey-day party and I have no idea why. The was a huge success. Everything was just so right! From finally setting a date, everyone (but one gal) being able to make it, the food prep the day before with my great friend R, cleaning the house today and eating all the yummy foods today.

We had just the right amount of food with only minimal leftovers. There is enough for me for lunch tomorrow and then some turkey to be frozen for turkey-noodle soup in the future. I can’t believe how easy stuffing, cranberry sauce, green bean casserole and candied yams are to make! My good friend R came over yesterday and it only took us 3-4 hours to make all of those, plus a pesto torte. This 3-4 hours included a cheesecake breakfast break to plan our day and a lunch break. Tadbit slept most of the time, which helped a lot too! Having R over was so much fun and it was the perfect thing to get me already in the holiday mood. Today I cleaned and tidied the house (downstairs) a bit and popped the turkey in the oven. I even made gravy with the turkey juices and bits. Oh my goodness, it too was easy and tasted delish!

To continue the “just right”-feeling, everyone arrived on time. That’s a pretty big feat if you know some of the gals in our group. It was great to have us all together again. We laughed, cried and laughed some more. I can’t believe I’ve known these girls almost my entire Finland-life. We have been through so much and I know we will go through so much more. These girls are my friends that are family. For their friendship and more I am ever thankful.

One thought on “Thanksgiving

  1. I’m glad you had a successful Turkey Day! It’s always great when things go so smoothly! I’m hosting Christmas Dinner this year and I’m dreading it. I always think we need more food than we do lol.

    Also, I have always wanted to visit Finland!

What do you think?

