#MicroblogMonday – Hosting Thanksgiving

I have lived in Finland for 16 years and only ever once been to a Thanksgiving celebration here. And that was during the second year I lived here. This year, I have finally gotten my act together and I am hosting a Turkey-day celebration in my home!

Mr Siili isn’t too keen on having a 3-4 kilo (6,6-8,8 pound) bird in the house, but I don’t have 20 friends that I would want to invite nor do we have the room for that many. So it looks like I’ll either buy some turkey breasts/legs or frantically freeze what doesn’t get eaten of the whole bird.

Our menu will looks something like the following, as it’s what my family does for Thanksgiving.

turkey
oyster balls (stuffing)
corn bread stuffing
pesto torte
candied yams/sweet potatoes
green bean casserole
cranberry sauce
pumpkin pie
crudités tray (gherkin sweet pickles, black olives, green olives, stuffed celery, pickled okra)
potato rolls

What’s your favorite dish for Turkey-day? What makes the meal for you?

MicroblogMonday For more microposts, go visit Mel’s post at Stirrup Queens.

10 thoughts on “#MicroblogMonday – Hosting Thanksgiving

  1. For me, it’s alll about the leftover sandwiches. Turkey, warm stuffing, cranberry sauce, on toasted bread with mayo. Yum. The big meal is just the vehicle to get all that food made.

    I’m on dessert duty this (and basically every) year, so I need to figure that out soon-ish.

    Enjoy!

  2. That sounds like a fabulous time. Another great leftover my family likes to do with turkey is turkey salad…like chicken salad but with the turkey meat. Some celery, onion, apples, and mayo. It changes it up and makes delicious sandwiches or to have with crackers.

    I am with Emma, though…my favorites are all the carbs. Unless there is ham. I could pass on turkey though.

What do you think?

