#MicroblogMondays – Soda Crackers

I have been looking for soda crackers (aka saltines) ever since I came to Finland, 16 years ago. I have found water crackers, soup crackers (almost the same), Ritz crackers and every other type of crackers imaginable, but not soda crackers. Until a couple of weeks ago! I found them! I found them in olive mixed with some other flavor and sesame flavor. Not exactly the plain soda crackers I truly want, but the the texture is what I want and the sesame flavor isn’t too strong for the purpose I have in mind: Soda cracker bars aka Faux Almond Roca.

I remember my mom making this recipe. And then I remember her teaching me how to make it before I moved out o my own. It is so easy and very delicious.

Soda cracker bars (as my mom gave me the instructions)

Line a cookie sheet with foil and grease. Then lay 40 soda crackers evenly over the bottom. Boil 1 cup brown sugar and 1 cup real butter 3 minutes. Pour over crackers. Bake at 350F in the oven until bubbly (approx. 10 min) and crackers float. Remove from oven and cool 5 minutes (or not). Cover with 6-12 ounces chocolate chips, spread when they melt. Put chopped almonds on top. Cut while warm.
Just like eating the candy!

My notes: Baking paper would probably work better/easier, plus no need to grease.
My stepmom says gluten free pretzels work quite well and give an extra crunch.

MicroblogMonday For more microposts, go visit Mel’s post at Stirrup Queens.

2 thoughts on “#MicroblogMondays – Soda Crackers

What do you think?

