6 week postpartum update

Baby girl aka Tadbit is 6 weeks (3 days) old and I’ve not been pregnant that long! She’s growing like a weed and I’m not. *big grin* Today Tadbit weighed in at 5680 g (12,5 lbs) and 57 cm. She’s almost 2 kilos (4 lbs) heavier and 7 cm longer. Momma’s breast milk is doing it’s thing.

As for me, my hemoglobin is back to a normal number (for me), my blood pressure is normal and nothing in my urine. Yay! My uterus has also shrunk and felt normal to the doctor. Most post delivery bleeding had stopped by 3 weeks, but was completely done by 5 weeks. (Plus a spot here and there this last week.) I noticed my couple of stitches were gone around 3 weeks. However I still had some issues with pooing pain-free. Thankfully that isn’t an issue anymore. I do, however, get random sharp pains in my abdomen area that last only a flash and are gone. I assumed it was something contracting or moving back to its proper place. The doctor didn’t seem concerned when I explained it to her.

I/We are done having kids! Two is all I want and I am very lucky to have gotten what I wanted. I would like for either Mr Siili or I to get snipped (vasectomy/tubes tied), but there is a wait in the public sector for non-life threatening procedures, so there will be a bit of a wait. Honestly, it will probably be me who has the surgery as Mr Siili isn’t too keep on it. Fine with me, as I would prefer to not have to worry about hormonal birth control. That said, I have a prescription for the Nuva Ring for birth control, but I won’t be using it for some time still. It can affect milk supply and I’m not having any of that! If I were to get pregnant, we’ll worry about it when/if the time comes. I don’t foresee Mr Siili and I getting intimate too often still. I, unfortunately, still have no desire, which I think is somewhat totally normal and understandable. But still, poor guy.

I was able to put all my rings back on around 3 weeks postpartum. However my wedding ring was still a bit snug.

At two weeks postpartum, I was down half my weight gain. My first weigh in at 8 weeks pregnant was 68,3 kg and I ended the pregnancy around 88/90 kg. Now at 6 weeks out, I weighed in at 74,3 kg (163,5 lbs). That’s only 6 kilos up from the first weigh in and only 8 kilos more than when I got pregnant with Paxlet. I’m not worried about the weight at all, never have been. I would like to work on the post-pregnancy tummy flab. That should be decently easy to do something about it so long as I do something!

I love having my body back! I can bend over, drive the car without awkwardness, twist and pop my back, see my lady bits and walk, especially now that my lungs have adjusted to having space again.

This is me tonight:
6 weeks 3 days postpartum

6 weeks 3 days postpartum

p.s. I’ve finally updated the last of Tadbit’s pictures.

7 thoughts on “6 week postpartum update

  1. Looking great!!

    I know that your husband is not keen on getting snipped but it is a far easier and less invasive procedure for the male to get it done…..

What do you think?

