Tadbit is 1 month old

Yesterday was one month since my Baby girl was born. Where has the time gone? Seriously! I vaguely remember the same happening with Paxlet during the first weeks/month. When Tadbit was born, we were still getting some snow flurries that would stick on the ground for a few hours and now when I look again, all the birch have tiny visible green leaves on them. It also doesn’t freeze at night anymore.

Tadbit still doesn’t have a name. I think about it constantly. We think we have a first name, but we can’t seem to find a second/middle name to go with it. And yes, we would like a second/middle name. I would be willing to go with a different first name, but we absolutely don’t have any other names in sight or mind. Ack! Thankfully we have one more month to figure out a name, but I’m stressing already.

I have found that as the days and weeks are going by, I am loving this little girl more. I know I loved her before she arrived and my heart swelled when she did arrive, but the feelings of love I had for her in the beginning just felt so different than what I remembered with Paxlet. I am thankful for the weekdays and Paxlet being at daycare, as that has given me time to just be with Tadbit and bond with her. I do feel a bit guilty still at times when I think of what we have “done” to him, but on the other hand I am happy that we have been able to give him a sibling. (It will be up to the both of them to like each other for their entire lives.) I love her.

This little girl is growing so much already before our eyes. I got the first real smiles a few days ago. Mr Siili got some the following day. Tadbit’s also definitely more aware of her surroundings. She’s looking around at things. I can see wonder and thought (as opposed to a blank stare) in her eyes when she’s awake and looking around. We’re also getting more coos and sounds from her. I love it as babies grow out of the larva stage and start getting some personality.

She’s growing physically too! Some of her newborn sized clothes already don’t fit! And I have some more that we’ll have to stop using very soon. Size 3 diapers are going to be a reality pretty soon.

From day one, Tadbit has been a good sleeper. Even better than Paxlet! She usually sleeps 3-4 hours at a time and then is awake 1-2 hours. This is marvelous at night, even if it still feels like I never get enough sleep. Yes, I know the whole saying of “sleeping when the baby sleeps”. I just never did it much when Paxlet was a baby and I don’t do it so often now. Once I’m awake, I’m awake and find it hard to get back into bed. Especially if I help Paxlet get ready in the morning for daycare.

I gave Tadbit a bath for first time on Sunday, at 4 weeks of age. She just laid in the bath with big eyes. No screams or struggles, so I think she liked it.

I have been using my Amazonas wrap quite a bit with Tadbit. It has been so easy to put her in it and wear her wherever I need to. She’s fussy at the store? Put her in the wrap. I need to get Paxlet from daycare? Put her in the wrap. She’s fussy in the evening (colic / witching hour) and nothing will quiet her? Put her in the wrap! It is taking my lower back a bit to get used to, but I love that I can wear her and she’ll fall asleep almost immediately. I do still have the Snugli that I used with Paxlet, but I don’t find it as comfortable as the wrap. I mean, I do like it and it is easy to put the baby in it, I just find the wrap is more adjustable and allows the weight to be a it more balanced. I wish I had bought the wrap earlier with Paxlet. I do use the stroller with her sometimes, but she doesn’t always settle in it. Plus, it is easier to be out and about with Paxlet with Tadbit in the wrap, most times.

On the flip side of using the wrap all the time, Tadbit will generally fall asleep and stay asleep if I lay her down or take her out of the wrap. Whereas Paxlet would wake up very quickly. Tadbit will even sleep in her box for part of the night already. Paxlet didn’t do that until quite some time later (months later?).

Life is different, yet the same. I’m still getting used to it all, but I think I’m pretty happy when I’m not so tired.

One thought on “Tadbit is 1 month old

  1. sounds lovely! glad you are enjoying Tadbit! I think it’s kind of awesome that you are waiting to find the perfect name. In the beginning it feels weird to call them by their names anyway; we just used silly nicknames. I get that people have preferred names (so did we) but I find it a bit odd to name a child before birth.

What do you think?

