May Day

It’s May first and Vappu* here in Finland.

wpid-20150501_164535.jpg

This year Mr Siili and Paxlet made sima (lightly fermented lemon mead) and I made tippaleipä (funnel bread). I thought about taking both kids downtown to see what was going on, but Paxlet has a bit of a cold, there are just too many people downtown celebrating exuberantly and I just couldn’t get my act together today. So, we just stayed home and enjoyed a day together.

I’m too lazy to write up the recipes, so here are some links that do them justice.
Sima recipe #1
Sima recipe #2
Tippaleipä

*I’ve explained Vappu several times over the years, I can’t be bothered this year. If you want to know more, search my blog with the word “vappu”.

What do you think?

