#MicroblogMonday – Meeting my doula

I met with the doula today. I feel as if we are so much alike! There are so many things about our lives and ways of parenting that it made talking to her easy. She’s lived in the US for quite many years, even though she is Finnish. She even lived on the west coast not too far from my hometown.

We discussed Paxlet’s birth, my hopes for this time around, her own births and many more topics that had nothing to do with my impending labor and delivery. (Random topics like pets, parents, in-laws, American coffee vs Finnish coffee, baby led weaning, bilingual kids, diapers, etc.) We also discussed why I wanted a doula: to have someone there with me, in case Mr Siili can’t make it if we can’t get someone to watch Paxlet. And it would also be nice to have someone who is there for me and to advocate for my wishes if the case comes up that something needs to be dealt with.

All in all, I really don’t have any worries about this upcoming birth. Even though Paxlet’s birth was an entirely new situation and a bit scary, it was a quick labor and delivery. Nothing horrible happened, unless you want to count the few stitches I needed from tearing. In my opinion, I have no trauma that needs to be worked through. However, there are a few things I would like to try differently this time around. I hope that because I do know what is going to happen that I can be a bit more relaxed (in body and mind) and more focused, thus making the whole experience less painful. Hopefully. I would also like to try and deliver while on my knees leaning over the back of the bed and not flat on my back. The only major “problem” at the moment is not knowing when Tadbit will arrive. In her own due time, I know.

I thought for sure it was too late to get a doula, but I have one now! We’ll meet again next week to discuss natural ways of pain relief, if Tadbit doesn’t decide to come before then, which I don’t think she will.

MicroblogMonday For more microposts, go visit Mel’s first post about MBM at Stirrup Queens.

6 thoughts on “#MicroblogMonday – Meeting my doula

  1. I’m so glad you found a doula that you connected with! I’m sure she will prove to be an invaluable asset (and advocate) during your labor and delivery. I look forward to hearing about your experience as Tadbit arrives in the coming weeks. Good luck to you!

What do you think?

