Slow cooker stew – my first attempt!

I bought my slow cooker a month ago and today was the first time I actually used it. And I think the meat stew turned out pretty good! Maybe not exactly as it was supposed to, but I like it. I hope Mr Siili and Paxlet like it too.

sc stew

I used this recipe for directions and inspiration. But I didn’t use wine or peas and I added mushrooms and celery. Next time I’ll try this without pre-browning the meat as it will mean less oil in the stew.

Do you cook with a slow cooker? What are your favorite recipes? I need more (easy and yummy) recipes!

11 thoughts on “Slow cooker stew – my first attempt!

  1. I love doing slow cooker meals because that means I usually don’t have to cook dinner for a couple days. When I make stew I don’t brown the meat beforehand. But I do take a 1/4 to a 1/2 cup of flour, mix in some black pepper and paprika, and then toss the stew meat chunks in that. It helps to season the meat and thicken the sauce. It also eliminates the need for the oil.

  2. We are currently enjoying chili made in our slower cooker. It looked like a busy week so I prepped everything Sunday and it cooked all day Monday and we are set until at least tonight. My chili recipe always changes but I have learned that it is a necessity that I precook the ground meat and not add too much water. Beef, turkey or venison are our favourite varieties.

  3. My husbands favorite crock pot meal is only 4 ingredients. One medium size sliced onion for the bottom layer, four or five potatoes depending on the size, peeled and sliced into rounds, about 1/4 inch thick, maybe a little thicker, 4 or 5 pork chops, what ever was in the package, and 1 can mushroom soup on the top. I usually prepare this on my lunch hour in about 10-15 minutes and cook on high for about 4 hours. Also could throw together in the morning and cook on low all day. I love this recipe for it’s simplicity and my husband loves it because the meat is so tender and delicious.

      • I was the same as your husband, lol., I hated mushroom soup for years, but it really doesn’t look or taste like mushroom soup when it’s done. It’s more like a creamy sauce. That’s how I was able to eat it. I think I made it for my husband for a couple of years before I would try it too. 🙂

What do you think?

