27 weeks, #2

Happy New Year! I thought about writing a year end post, but just couldn’t be bothered. Instead, you get this, a weekly update.

Whether it has been the impending year end or just that time of pregnancy, I’ve been having some shocking realizations on how far along I am in this pregnancy and just how little time I have left until labour and delivery will be here. OMG!

I am in the third trimester now. I know some places calculate it as the 27th week and others the 28th week. I am happy calling this week the start of the 3rd trimester. Two-thirds of the way there.

Assuming Tadbit is born around her EDD, I will have 13 more weeks of pregnancy. Soon will be single digit weeks. Yikes!

It also means I am 7 months along. How the heck did this happen?!

I also realized this last week, that I have less than two months at work! That’s 7,5 weeks of work left. My last working day is February 25th.  Wow!

This is it! The home stretch is nearing. Ack!

I’m in a private April ’05 birth group on FB, which moved from the Baby Centre boards. Being that this group is from the UK site, most everyone is British. And they talk about British things. *grin* I’ve learned some new things and definitely some new words. One of the things I learned about is the TV show One Born Every Minute. (There’s a US version too, I’ve been told.) This has been interesting to watch and a reminder of what was with Paxlet and what is to come with Tadbit. I think I’m now slightly freaked out by going through labor again. Yet, I can’t stop watching the shows (on you.tube). The first time around with Paxlet, I believe it was ignorance is bliss…this time I KNOW what will happen and the pain it brings. LOL. However, I wouldn’t even consider an elective Cesarian.

I can’t sit straight in a chair with my legs together. It just isn’t comfortable and not really possible as my bump is in the way. I noticed this last week, but forgot to write about it.

Even though I am 27 weeks along and in my second uneventful pregnancy, TP checks still happen. Maybe I don’t check as vigilantly or with as much fear/urgency as in the beginning whenever I felt something coming out of my ladybits, but TP checks still happen.

I realized, again, that we don’t have a car seat yet! Last time we were loaned one. This time, I need to decide whether we buy one brand new or if I buy one used; from someone I don’t know and have to trust that they are truthful about the car seat never being in an accident. Finns are as a whole truthful and trustworthy people, but this is my baby’s safety we’re talking about. What would you do?

My face has gotten a bit round. With Paxlet, I’m not sure if I noticed it or not. At least I don’t think I did during pregnancy. Afterward, I would look at my weekly pictures and yowzers! had my face gotten fat and round, compared to what I normally look like. This time around, I have actually noticed it. And I don’t like it. I will never let myself get fat, so long as I have any control over it.

My bump has definitely grown in the last week or so. At least two pairs of pants are snug and not fitting so comfortably as before. The same goes with a couple of maternity shirts. Do I really have to worry about buying more maternity clothes?! I haven’t even found winter pants yet!

Last few days, some part of Tadbit has been situated in the upper right side of my bump, just under my ribs. Sometimes it feels like she is stretching up in the area and when she does, talk about really uncomfortable if I don’t sit up very straight.

I’ve been having so much pressure in my lower pelvic area. I’ve also been having quite a few Braxton Hicks. Especially when standing. They are more common in the afternoon and especially evening, but lately I’ve been having them in the morning too. I will be talking to the midwife about this during the next neuvola appointment next week.

I had a meltdown over pizza this week. Paxlet was in bed and Mr Siili and I were going to watch something. I decided I needed to cook a frozen spinach pizza first. I turned the oven on and waited for it to heat up. After a while Mr Siili went to check on the oven and I had only turned the light on. Cue a bit of moaning. Once the oven did warm up, I put the pizza in. After 12-13 minutes I went to get my pizza and it was very done. Cue some whining. The temperature was a 250C instead of 220C. I was sure I put it at the correct temp, but Mr Siili says he didn’t touch it. As I cut up the pizza, Mr Siili pulls out a plate. I put some slices on the plate and he rearranges them. I ask what he is doing and he says he is moving his pieces so they cool down. Cue anger and tears. I didn’t say I was making pizza for him! And he didn’t say he wanted any, plus he doesn’t like these pizzas, so why is he wanting some now!? I cried and stormed at him for a bit and refused to eat the pizza. He went back to his game, I went back to my computer. After a while of neither of us talking, I eventually got the pizza and ate it huffily. It was over cooked and now cold. It still sort of hit the spot.

After a dash into the store with Paxlet yesterday, I realized that (food) shopping will never be the same again. At least not for a long time. Paxlet is getting to the age that he doesn’t HAVE to be in a cart for us to shop. He listens to me quite well and enjoys helping put things in a pull basket, if we are quick. However, I am getting more clumsy, slow and achy with this pregnancy, so shopping, alone, with Paxlet just isn’t easy. Even in the best of circumstances. Once Tadbit gets here, there won’t be a “just pop into the store” option anymore…..

3 thoughts on “27 weeks, #2

  1. Good luck with the last weeks of pregnancy! it is surreal how quickly the time goes by toward the end. I did TP checks right up till the beginning of labour. Not until there was doctor staring between my legs did I stop monitoring what was coming out of there. I am sure you will do great at your second labour – hopefully it is true what they say about the second one being easier.

  2. The raging emotions, yes, I took for granted how affected I would be. Even at this early stage, I am crying over such idiotic things, like remembering something in a conversation with my husband that happened 2 seasons ago on a television show between 2 fictional characters. The whole pizza thing seems completely reasonable to me 😉 I hope the last trimester treats you well, mama!

What do you think?

