Last travel thoughts before traveling

We’re leaving dark and early in the morning, so this is my last post before we get on the way. (I just realized I could blog on my phone on the bus trip to the airport or at the airport, but I highly doubt that will happen.) We are packed as well as we can be and only the last minute things that are needed in the morning (toothbrushes, deodorant, food that is in the fridge, etc) that will be in carry on will be added.

Three people, three suitcases, 3 backpacks (Paxlet has a Paxlet-size pack inside the bigger bag) and 4 passports (I have 2 passports). Paxlet has decorated all 3 suitcases with stickers. And Mr Siili packed all of the junk that I managed to find and buy to take to family and friends in the US. Yes, it was almost a suitcase full in itself. Thankfully it will  all be staying there! And yes, he grumbled about it. (I need to give him a big hug and kiss for it. :D)
100_3214

As for all the things that I have been worrying over, this is how it went down:

Snacks = have a plan to make savory muffins (sun dried tom, spinach, cheese), raisins, banana chips, dried fruit, cuc sticks, carrot sticks (fresh & steamed), granola/breakfast-type bars, apple wedges, fishy crackers (goldfish, however ,they are not gold), Cheerios, rye bread sandwiches (for the first part of the trip) and smoothie pouches, if I remember it all. The pouches are liquids and I forgot about the liquid issue. We’ll have to put all liquid type food & stuff (hand lotion) in a 1 liter bag x 3; one per person. I have a small water bottle for Paxlet and I, but we will have to dump the water out before security checks OR toss the entire bottle. Once past security checks, we can fill the bottles up again (if we can find somewhere besides a bathroom).

Toys = We don’t have a tablet, but my new phone has a drawing/notepad app on it that keeps Paxlet quite happy, tons of (new) stickers, paper, colored pencils, books, Pupu (stuffed rabbit), some fuzz-craft balls and other small toys that can be easily packaged up and dragged along.

We don’t have too much time between plane transfers, but if we do have some down time, we’ll look for interesting stuff to keep busy. So far, Paxlet is pretty good about not “wanting” items from stores or at least not making a big fuss if we say no and move on.

Language: Paxlet hears Mr Siili speak English to me daily. 🙂 So he does know daddy speaks English. But in general, we do practice OPOL. I try my hardest not to translate things into English when Mr Siili says something, unless I feel a point really needs to be made. Paxlet will learn what he learns in each language as he learns it.

As for Paxlet’s language skills, he basically only speaks Finnish (by choice?), but understands both languages perfectly (or as perfect as a 2 year old does). He will say things in English if I ask him to, if he is copying what someone says or on the rare occasion when I have not heard or understood him, he has repeated words in English (usually a key word from the sentence).

I am sure we will work it out with the language “issues” I am creating ahead of time. LOL. I think part of my main worry is past family drama and issues towards Mr Siili.

Confusion & De-stressifying: We will definitely be explaining to him what is going to happen beforehand (he knows we are flying in a plane to see grandpa and grandma S), as it happens and afterward recaps. As with all things kid related, that I have learned so far, observe the kid and see how s/he is doing and follow their lead.

We will be staying in a hotel, so we will have a place to escape, take naps and just wind down in general.

I’ve done what I can to get ready for this trip. Now it is just off to bed and try to get a little less than 4 hours of sleep before we need to get ready to leave. Wish us luck! And everyone take care.

4 thoughts on “Last travel thoughts before traveling

  1. Impressive. Just a quick note about water: you might just get to take that bottle with you, if you explain that it is for you and the child. In Europe they usually let you take your small bottle (0.5 l) with you, especially when you are pregnant and/or with a small child. The adventure and all the real-life motor-propelled machines will blow Paxlet’s little mind. 🙂 Best of luck, and loads of fun!

What do you think?

