#MicroblogMonday: Now and Then

Paxlet and I headed upstairs this evening to look for paint, specifically if we had any fabric paint*. And we I got sidetracked. I found a box of yarn that was my mom’s, knitted items that my mom had made and then a box of photographs. Man, these photos were a trip back in time! But first, the “now” photos:

100_3097

Paxlet took this picture of me last week.

100_3112

Paxlet took this picture of Mr Siili/Daddy last week.

I took this picture of Paxlet today. He was pinching his nose and blowing. Hilarity! On his behalf, not mine.

I took this picture of Paxlet today. He was pinching his nose and blowing. Hilarity! On his behalf, not mine.

And for some “then” photos and a bit of story to go with them. Sorry they are a bit blurry, but that is what happens when you want a post to go up today and you don’t have a scanner at home.

Me in July 1992 in the parking grounds of Oregon Country Fair. I was almost 16.

Me in July 1992 in the parking grounds of Oregon Country Fair. I was almost 16.

Mr Siili, May 1, 1999. Hyvää means (lit.) good, but in front of something it means "happy/merry". Paxlet knew this was daddy and asked about the picture a bit, such as what is daddy holding in his hand.

Mr Siili, May 1, 1999.
Hyvä(ä) means (lit.) good, but in front of something it means “happy/merry”.
Paxlet knew this was daddy and asked about the picture a bit, such as what is daddy holding in his hand.

Me, May 1, 1999. Vappu(a) means "May Day" Paxlet recognized me as "äiti/mom".

Me, May 1, 1999.
Vappu(a) means “May Day”
Paxlet recognized me as “äiti/mom”.

And when I asked Paxlet what these were, he immediately said "Äiti". In automatic response, I laugh-snorted in mock offense. Paxlet thought this was hilarious. Hrm.

And when I asked Paxlet what these were, he immediately said “Äiti”. In automatic response, I laugh-snorted in mock offense. Paxlet thought this was hilarious. Hrm.

Then we looked at Grandma S (my stepmom) and Grandma (my mom). I love this picture of my mom, she looks so happy. 1998.

Then we looked at Grandma S (my stepmom) and Grandma (my mom).
I love this picture of my mom, she looks so happy.
1998.

And then we saw Grandma again, Aunt S (my only sister) and Grandpa. When I said "Grandma", Paxlet shyly waved at her. I broke down in tears, although Paxlet thought I was laughing. I gave him a big hug and told him I loved him.

And then we saw Grandma again, Aunt S (my only sister) and Grandpa.
When I said “Grandma”, Paxlet shyly waved at her. I broke down in tears, although Paxlet thought I was laughing. I gave him a big hug and told him I loved him.
1998.

*Do you think acrylic paints can be used on fabrics and not wash off? I want to do a washcloth-paint project, but don’t really want to buy fabric paint.

MicroblogMonday For more microposts, go visit Mel’s blog. (Thanks Kmina for the wording. :D)

7 thoughts on “#MicroblogMonday: Now and Then

  1. I think acrylic paint will “work” in that it will leave permanent paint marks on your fabric. But I think if it’s an often used/washed item, it won’t hold up as well as fabric paint would in terms of fading and cracking.

    I’ve recently began using fabric markers instead of paint and I find I like them a lot better – so I use them more, which made the purchase worthwhile.

  2. I love finding old pictures. Even when they remind me of someone who is no longer with us (mom). I love the way explaining the pictures to my girls helps remind me of things I had forgotten.
    I have no idea on the acrylic paint. As Cathy mentioned above I think it will work but not hold up as well.

  3. What a fun trip down memory lane! Glad that you found a great excuse to take it.

    Acrylic paint should work, but I don’t recommend it for something that will be washed often. Tends to flake off. But it is worth a shot!

  4. I think the acrylics would wash off. I worry about using acrylics on anything near water. I’m struggling with that right now with a mask. I don’t want it ruined if it rains on Halloween.

    Bittersweet to go through the old photos. I love the old ones of you!

What do you think?

