9 weeks, #2

Oh, My, Goodness! Am I ever tired! Having a cold for the last few days hasn’t helped much, but I am just so exhausted anyway. Paxlet is asleep, he went down quite easily. Mr Siili is at a work function, who knows when he’ll be home. And I’m trying to decide if I should play a bit on my computer (after posting this) or just head straight to bed. The longer I sit here, the more I am leaning towards the latter.

This little blob/Tadbit/baby is about an inch long now. Which is about the size of a grape. I ate some dark purple grapes this evening…not sure how I feel about that.

3 more weeks until my first (of two, if all is ok) ultrasound. I can’t wait for it!

I feel so bloated, gassy and just overall big and tender in the mid-section of my body. I vaguely remember that from last time, but definitely not this bad, this early. Truly, every pregnancy is different. I just hope we’ll be lucky again in the non-colicky, happy baby department.

No picture was taken last week and there won’t be one taken tonight, as I have a feeling I’ll be passed out in bed before Mr Siili gets home. I will have to remember to get it done tomorrow evening. (And someday, possibly, put them up on a page.)

At work, our floor was recently renovated and every person now has an electric desk that we can move up and down to sit or stand as we please. My work is encouraging us to stand and move about, in part with these new desks, by encouraging walking meetings and even meeting rooms without chairs, as getting us to move and be more active is healthier. We, as people of this day and age, sit way too much. I was really looking forward to standing a bit more, I know I grumbled about not being able to get an electric table earlier as I didn’t have a “medical” need for it. But since getting this table, the few times I’ve tried it I just start feeling queasy and not well. I am sure it is pregnancy related. However, the work physical therapist guy came around today to make sure everyone’s chair and desk are in correct positions for sitting and standing. When I asked him if there was something I could do to help me stand more, without the horrible side-effects, he asked if I had tried the saddle chair and Stitz standing stool. I’ve tried the saddle chair a few times, but it always seems to rub/poke me right in the crotch and I end up feeling irritated and like a UTI is coming on. Not good. As for the other one, I had to ask him to repeat it a few times and then he just offered to go get one to show me what he was talking about. I love the Stitz standing stool! And he is recommending to my work to get me one. *huge grin*

In addition to telling the work PT guy, I told Paxlet’s daycare lady today. I wanted to ask her about afternoon pick-up times, as I am going to increase my work hours, so I get more pay now and thus get more pay when on maternity leave. Right now, I only work 5 hours a day, sweet I know, but it also comes with the pay cut that goes with shorter hours. I drop Paxlet off at 8:00 and pick him up anywhere form 14:30 to 15:00. That’s basically what the other two kids’ schedules are also. (There will be a 4th kid at some point, but as of yet, that is an unknown.) I know she can work longer, officially, but I just wanted to find out a bit more of her opinions. Without any change on Paxlet’s schedule, I can officially work another hour. But I was hoping to bump it up to at least 7 hours a day, 8 being full time. Anything over 6 working hours a day will require me to get Paxlet’s daycare contract amended to a later pick-up time. It’s not a problem, it just needs to be thought out and then done.
The whole reason this is…even an issue, is that our daycare lady doesn’t work in a huge daycare. She is through the city, but she works privately out of her home with just a few kids. That means that if she has to start working full days and go over her 40 hours a week limit, she will have to start taking time off the following month to compensate for that. And that is not something I wish to contemplate. We like this lady and want to stay with her as long as possible. It is also a huge added bonus that she literally lives across the street from us. She also told me that if I am feeling extra tired some days, that I can just send her a message and can pick up Paxlet an hour or so later so I can get some rest. How cool is she?!

Not too much else in the way of pregnancy this week. Nausea is still a battle most of the time, though thankfully not as bad as it was a couple of weeks ago. Pizza (had it twice for lunch this week), burgers, chips with fake nacho cheese dip and anything else greasy, salty and fatty seems more palatable. Even if it doesn’t feel so nice later. Fruits, juices and sweets, blech. It is such a weird feeling/sensation to see a chocolate bar, candy or some other sweet thing that I would usually buy and eat without a thought, but these days it makes my stomach curdle, even just thinking of it or looking at it.

Last night I had a dream that a friend of mine gave birth to her little girl yesterday. She sent me a text message saying something like “our squishy pink little girl was born….” I happened to see her today, in one piece, and told her. She will be delivering in a week’s time, the latest, as her doctors don’t want her going over her due date as she has gestational diabetes. I am excited for her.

We haven’t really told Paxlet that he’ll be a big brother yet. I’m not sure if he’ll get the concept/idea at this age and stage. I’m thinking more when I have a bump, that we can start talking to him about it a bit more. Anyone have experience with kids about 2 years and 7 months apart?

 

One thought on “9 weeks, #2

  1. When the age gap is under two, it depends a lot on the personality and development. George was quite alright, although in general rather indiferent to my bump, his future status as a big brother, yadayada. He said there was a baby inside, but that may have been just repeating our words. Thankfully, he was ok with his little brother, and due to the small age gap, they make a good team together and are quite the best of friends.
    But this does not happen as a rule. I know siblings whose big brother was very nice with the mum, but then tried to poke the eyes out of the little sister, because she would repeatedly show up in her cot, against his nightly indications to just go back to the hospital. I know siblings who want nothing to do with their little brother, simply ignoring him (heartbreaking, no emotion whatsoever?!). A girl did not understand what a brother was because she was too small (irish twins :-)), and they grew up together without knowing how it was to have the undivided attention of parents (they are the best of chums, honestly, they have their own world).
    My point is: you can’t tell before hand. Depending on their own personalities, the children will forge their own relationship. Of course, being little social and behavioural sponges that they are, they will mimic the parents, so they will be nice and curteous to each other. Even if Paxlet does not understand the baby business (growing in the belly, comes out to stay, will be good friends), repeat it enough times, and he will appropriate it. 😉

What do you think?

