All my adult life, almost

Yet again, it’s been ages since I’ve actually written here. And again, I’ve composed several posts in my head, but that doesn’t get them typed up and published. I’ve got not excuses. I’ve been enjoying life with my boys, when not working.

*The dress I wore to the medieval fair (in the last post) is something I found at the Salvation Army over 20 years ago! I remember walking to (high) school, in the mornings, barefoot and even around the halls barefoot (eeew!) wearing this dress. It still fits quite nicely!

*My birthday is less than a week away. I’ll be 38 years old/young. You choose. I don’t feel any different, yet? It’s just another birthday and another year. I have no idea what I’ll be doing for my birthday, but I will be on holiday!
I bought myself an early birthday gift. Who am I kidding, I would have bought this regardless of how close or far my brithday was). I bought Diana Gabaldon‘s 8th book in the Outlander series: Written in my Own Heart’s Blood aka Moby. I haven’t started it yet, as I am still re-reading the entire series and I have only just started book 7. For the 3rd time (except book 7, this will only be the 2nd time)! Yes, I know! I love this series THAT much and I plan on reading it at least a few more times. It is THAT GOOD!
moby
Bonus belated birthday gift? The Outlander Tv show will air on Aug 2nd. However,  it will be a live streamed showing and most likely only in the US… Unfair! So, I most likely won’t get to see it until Aug 9th. That’s not that far off! *Squeal*

How does Diana Gabaldon’s books fit into “almost all my adult life”? Well, Outlander was first published in 1991. How did it take me so long to find it and start reading the series?!

*15 years ago today, I boarded a plane and headed for Finland with my residence permit in hand. I was 22 years young. All these years later, I’m still here. These 15 years here mean I’ve spent almost my entire adult life in Finland. Although, I really don’t know if I would consider myself an adult in the years 18-21/22 before moving here. I sure felt like a kid a lot of the time, even after moving here.

*I have a purse that I still carry around, which I bought in July of 1995 or 1996. My ex and I bought matching bags at the Oregon Country Fair. I’m sure he doesn’t have his any more, but I still love mine. It’s black albeit slightly faded and definitely used looking, with 5 pockets/pouches, one of which can lock and it holds everything I could ever need or want when out of the house. This purse has traveled everywhere with me. It has even had a bottle of blood red nail polish break in it not long after I bought it. I can still see bits of red here and there on the inside.

*Two of the 6 rings that I always wear have been with me for ages and ages. The dragon ring my mom bought me when I was 16. I love this ring! And the wire thin sterling band was an 18th birthday gift to myself. I bought this ring on an out of town trip, a 45 minute drive both ways, with 2 girl friends the very first time I got to drive my moms car out of town. I nearly killed us or at least severely injured us, in a stupid stupid not paying attention close enough when driving sort of way. I never told my mom about it.

 

On a not so life long note:
*Only 3 more working days and then we’re starting another 2 weeks of holiday.We don’t have much in the way of plans, but that is enough. We’ll do some things to keep Paxlet entertained, which is generally quite easy. I have a baby shower to go to and a girls day/evening sans kids. Mr Siili, Paxlet and I are also thinking of heading to visit Mummi and Pappa (my in-laws) again.

*Paxlet has not particularly liked me/us leaving him at the summer daycare these last 2 weeks. He cries when I leave him (and when Mr Siili is there too). My heart just breaks! I know he only cries for a few minutes, yet it is still so hard to leave him like that. Thankfully when I come pick him up in the afternoon, he is all cheery and happy, if a bit over excited to see me.

6 thoughts on “All my adult life, almost

  1. I just finished (as in, this morning) An Echo in the Bone, completing my reread of the entire series. And dove right into the new one!

    I have a lot of things I’ve owned for a long time, too. It’s hard to get rid of stuff!

    Have a great birthday!

    • Thank you!
      I hope you enjoy Moby, I am so looking forward to it! And the tv series!

      Yes, I also have lots of old “stuff”, but some of it, like the stuff I mentioned is stuff I still use!! 🙂

What do you think?

