5 days, 5 photos, 5 friends

Happy 293rd Birthday, Jamie Fraser! May 1st is the main male character’s birthday in Diana Gabaldon‘s Outlander series. I am reading the 5th book in the series (The Fiery Cross) and it just so happened that I came across his birthday today in the book. And then later on in my reader feed, Karen at Outlandish Observations posted an “ABCs of Jamie Fraser”. I love her list. I also saw on FB that the 8th book in the Outlander series comes out on June 10th in the US (June 5th in the UK). I have been waiting to read this book since right after the last one came out 4,5 years ago. And then this summer, the Outlander TV series will start (made by Starz). Squee!

*****

Today is May 1st aka May Day aka Worker’s Day.But here in Finland it is called Vappu and a holiday. It starts on April 30th and carries on through today. It’s the start of summer and a huge carnival-type celebration. It’s almost mandatory to eat munkki (sugar donuts) and drink sima (honey mead). While I did have some of each, in our household I made Dallas-pulla (sweet rolls) and cinnamon buns. I took Friday off, so this year Vappu is a long weekend for me. Not that I was out celebrating yesterday or today.

*****

There’s a meme going around the Finnish FB crowd. Thankfully this meme is not about posting to your status what color some portion of your clothes are, where you put your bag, how many weeks along you are or some other very well veiled attempt at raising awareness for breast cancer or something. This meme is about sharing the everyday bit of your life. In Finnish it is “arkikuvahaaste” aka Everyday photo challenge.

The idea is this:

For 5 days, you take a photo (or more) a day that somehow captures your ordinary, everyday life and share it (explaining a bit about the photo, if you want). Each day you do this challenge, you challenge one person to join you in the challenge.

I’ve enjoyed watching other people post their pictures on FB and tell a bit about their day. Up to this point, I have not been tagged and I’m not sure if I’m happy or sad about it. Let’s just say I’m indifferent. But because I like this idea, I thought I’d share it with you all and challenge anyone who reads this to post at least one picture a day (more if you want) for 5 days.

It’s like those chain letters we’d get as a kid, but without the envelope. Leave a comment to let me know if you decide to do it and I’ll add your blog to my post so others can enjoy your pictures too.

What do you think?

