The day has finally come and Apple Almond Meringue recipe

On Wednesday, after being home sick Monday and Tuesday, I finally learned that I will be moving to my new new position on Monday! I am excited and a bit nervous to be finally moving on. It’s only been 4 months since I should have moved to my previous new job, which I’ll never get to experience. In the 6 years that I have worked for this company, I have been in the same position (Accounts Receivable) the entire time, I’ve just worked with different regions around the world. My new new position (Contact Center) is going to be quite different, with a touch of the old, and fun, I think. I’ll have get to use my Finnish language skills more.

I’m not 100% sure of all my tasks in my new position. Part of that has to do with this position being new within the company itself and, well, I’ve not worked there yet. The tasks I do know, as I said, will be following me to this new position. Some of these tasks will be email monitoring/responding to certain types of requests, some reporting and for this month only some very basic account receivable work (processing of incoming payments) that has miraculously returned for a short period of time from the outsourced company.

The other news I found out when I returned to work on Wednesday was that the outsourcing company did get the go ahead on their handover/go-live, with conditions. Just like my co-workers and I expected. Part of this “condition” was that some work would come back to us for April. This is being done in the hopes that the quality of the work that stays there will get better and that when we do send the rest of the work to them (again) they will be better trained and more able to do their job.

Part of the work that came back, is my work! Yay! Actually, I did miss doing this part of the job and it is fun to be able to do it for a tiny bit longer. But with moving to my new position on Monday, it means I won’t have fully moved away from my current/former position just yet. Which, I don’t quite mind, but it means the business will continue for a bit longer.

*****

For my last day with my current co-workers, I decided to bake something for an afternoon coffee break. If possible, I wanted to go gluten-free and dairy-free so one of my co-workers could join in too. I think I found the perfect recipe, that I know is good normally, but should be easy to convert too! It’s an Apple Almond Meringue pie that we would make at the coffee house I worked at years and years ago.

Sorry for the poor quality, I'm too lazy to get out a real camera. Gluten-free on the left, "normal" on the right.

Sorry for the poor quality, I’m too lazy to get out a real camera.
Gluten-free on the left, “normal” on the right.

Apple Almond Meringue

Crust
Beat: 1 cube (1/4 lb or 1/2 cup) soft margarine
1 cup flour (here I substituted gluten-free flour mix)
When smooth, press evenly in a 9 inch spring pan. Bake at 325F until golden, about 15 minutes.

Bowl #1
Mix: 3 shredded Granny Smith apples (or 1 1/2 cups chopped apple)
2 Tbsp lemon juice
Arrange over crust (after baked).

Bowl #2
Beat: 2 eggs until foamy
Gradually add 1 cup sugar. Beat until thick
Mix in: 1/4 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/4 cup flour (here I substituted gluten-free flour mix)
Pour over apples.
Sprinkle on top 1/2 cup sliced almonds.

Bake at 325F until golden, about 30-35 minutes, or until done.

2 thoughts on “The day has finally come and Apple Almond Meringue recipe

  1. Have you ever tried this recipe with butter? I hate margarine with the hate of a thousand fiery suns, I’ve had too much of it under communism, and there is no comparison between that crap and butter. I have never cooked myself anything with margarine, but I heard that it behaves differently than butter. This is why I ask.
    Congrats on finally moving on. I hope the new job is even better than what you expect and dream it will be.

    • Oh, yes, butter works just fine in this recipe!! Normally that is what I do use, but since I needed lactose free, I actually followed the recipe this time. *grin* Even the gluten-free flour worked well. I’m impressed!

What do you think?

