Haha, I’m pregnant! Oh, wait, it’s just an April Fool’s day joke

Why did I think my FB friends/acquaintance were above and beyond the whole “Surprise, I’m pregnant!” on April 1st? Maybe it is because I have suffered infertility and am entrenched in the community that I know how funny it isn’t. It was stupid and naive of me to think otherwise.

I saw not one, but two announcements. Who knows, they could still be real* announcements, but what a rotten and unreal day to post about them. If they are real, I’m happy for the ladies and their family’s. If not, I want to say I’ll be  hiding their feed from view or de-friending them, but when I think about it, it’s only hurting me by doing that. One of the announcements is from a high school friend who just had her first, about 9 months ago. The other is lady I met through her IF blog, who has since been able to conceive and deliver a healthy baby.

As I slowly type/peck this out on my phone, I’ve been thinking why this bothers me so much. It’s not just that it took us so long and hard to get Paxlet, that is a huge part of it. But it is also that I would love a second child and I honestly don’t believe it will happen for us. So hearing/reading others throwing these words around so “flippantly” hurts.

Infertility, you aren’t funny and you suck!! Happy Fool’s Day anyway.

Edited: I did post my own statement/status on FB about how hurtful “jokes” like that are. Most people who commented agreed, more people just liked my status and one friend said “there’s no way of other people knowing what will hurt someone’s feelings”. I told her, I agreed, you can’t know what will hurt someone or not, but no one will ever know if I don’t speak up about it. And she replied that she now knows something like this could hurt others’ feelings. While I have not educated the world, I have educated one person (maybe more), at least for this day.

*I have since had confirmation that the second announcement is real. I congratulated her.

7 thoughts on “Haha, I’m pregnant! Oh, wait, it’s just an April Fool’s day joke

  1. Oh, sweetheart, I am so sorry for this entire sucktitude that is infertility and for what it has done to you. If only pregnancy was achieved based on merit and the intensity of wanting it, the world would be such a better place. And you would have been done with that part of your life by now. Many hugs!

    • Thank you, Mina! This whole ordeal/situation/what-have-you sounds worse than it is. Sure, I am upset, but mostly it is just annoying and frustrating. Thankfully people are seeing and commenting on my FB status, it is somewhat refreshing, but also shows me how much more there is for people to learn and/or how ignorant some are (and won’t change, as I’ve had a similar conversation with some of them before).

  2. This is what I posted on FB on April Fool’s Day, “Can I just say that fake pregnancy announcements on April Fool’s Day are pretty shitty? Yeah, I’m saying it. Don’t do it. Thanks much! #infertilityblows #itstillstings” I got a ton of great responses to it — no “come on, lighten up” — but I think most people know not to fuck with me on this topic!!! 🙂

    I didn’t have any friends who posted fake preggo announcements but I noticed some others complaining about it so I thought I’d nip it in the bud, since it was still early in the day.

What do you think?

