Surprise trigger

Christmas is almost here and for most people, me included, it means family time. Mr Siili, Paxlet and I are spending Christmas with his family. And I hope to Skype with my own family in the US sometime during this week. Everyone but my mom, that is. As I’ve mentioned many times before, my mom died suddenly 2,5 years ago of a heart attack. I still miss her a gi-normous amount, but most days I am able to carry on like normal.

However, the other day while driving, I heard  Michael Jackson’s They Don’t Care About Us song on the radio and I got weepy. I then heard the song again a week later or so and promptly burst into tears. I’m not exactly sure why this song has affected me so like this, but I do have a couple of thoughts on it. I’ve never really heard or listened to this song before, but I do (did?) like Michael Jackson. And for as long as I can remember, I have liked his song Rockin’ Robin (released 1972 on his first solo album). My parents had the cassette tape, which I would listen to over and over. And Robbin just so happens to be my mom’s name. 🙂

But mainly, Michale Jackson was born the same year as my mom and I remember when he died (2009), I was here at my in-laws and called my mom to talk to her about it. I was shocked that he died and it also brought home how young he was because my mom was the same age. Two years later when my mom died, she was still young and it is still hard to think of her not being here. Especially when this time of the year is about family.

One thought on “Surprise trigger

What do you think?

