Work interview update

Thanks for the positive thoughts and well wishes for Monday’s “Recruitment discussion”. I think it went well, but one can never really tell. The two ladies seemed impressed with my answers and what I had to say, but at the same time, they could just be blowing smoke up my ass. (I have no idea why that phrase comes to mind and I actually had to look it up, because I kept thinking “air” instead of smoke.) The whole discussion was only 30 minutes, but we covered quite a bit of words in that time.

They asked me if I speak Finnish, to which I switched over to it and just continued what I was saying from there. That seemed to impress them. Although, I’m not sure why. I have lived here for 14,5 years. Maybe because Americans are generally (as a whole?) not that good at languages or at least learning another country’s language? Or maybe because… I don’t know. I know I made a lot of mistakes, but that didn’t stop me from talking.

The ladies also were impressed that I had taken the time to write out some notes. (I didn’t want to forget a few key points.) Their reactions (and possibly words) said it the first time around when I told them I needed to look at my notes to make sure I got my thoughts straight and words out correctly. And then at the end of the “interview” one of them said again how she was impressed with my notes. I didn’t need nearly as much as I had written, but I am glad I wrote them anyway!

I now kind of wish I had made my 2nd choice my first choice. And I still worry that my working part time (I leave work by 2pm or a bit after) will reduce my chances of getting a continued position with the company (or even finding a new job that will want me part time, permanently). But all in all, I think I did well in the talk and they could see that I love what I do as I got quite animated as I told stories examples some of the cases I’ve worked on.

I think I’ve gotten pretty good lately about not wishing my time away and wanting time go faster, but I really would like this next 7-9 days to just fly by. I’m stressing myself out enough that it is manifesting physically. I have an almost constant feel of a UTI coming on (mostly in the evenings when I have time to think). And I have been getting some stress blisters on my hands. They hurt if I bump them even though they are basically invisible, unless I scratch them because they itch like freaking crazy. I also feel like i am getting sick, although I don’t think this is so much stress related, but I am sure it doesn’t help.

5 thoughts on “Work interview update

  1. Whew, that had to have been stressful. Keeping my fingers crossed for you! And get yourself some cranberry juice for that possible UTI! (I had to laugh at the “blowing smoke up your ass” phrase — yes, you used that perfectly. 🙂

What do you think?

