Sorries

100_0547

When I was very little, only a couple of years old and still learning to talk, my mom and dad had a paper route. Many times my dad would take me on the route with him, on his back. During the rounds, we would see pretty flowers and I would want to pick them. Each time I wanted to pick the flowers, my dad would tell me “sorry”.

Some time after my dad telling me sorry often enough, I one day pointed out some ‘Sorries’ to my mom.
(I don’t remember if she was confused by this or not, but it was all sorted out in the end.)

*******

Now when Paxlet is crawling around and getting into things he shouldn’t, or wants something I don’t want him to have and I tell him “sorry”, I am always reminded of this story. It also makes me wonder what words Paxlet will learn and use “incorrectly” for a time.

One thought on “Sorries

What do you think?

