Two years on

Edited: I wrote this in the morning, but only got the pictures added this evening.

Two years ago to this day, my mom died. Technically it was a Sunday and Father’s day, but I refuse to mar Father’s day for my dad. (I know my stepmom does that well enough.)

I’m still hurting and missing my mom. I still have questions about how she did things when we were kids and when milestones happened and they will still never be answered by her. I feel there is so much I never got to know about her as a person and I wish I had asked more about her life and what it was like for her growing up, even if it wasn’t always the best. But I also try to remember the things she taught me (knitting, some baking) and how we were working on our relationship in a good way. These things will never change. Some days are worse than others. But the fact remains the same, I miss my mom something fierce.

Today I am remembering her with some tears,  some smiles and a knitted and felted flower in my hair (that she made).
IMG_20130619_083737  IMG_20130619_083452
Please excuse the tear stained face, I’m missing my mom.

Don’t cry because it’s over. Smile because it happened. -Dr. Seuss

12 thoughts on “Two years on

  1. So sorry for your loss… It is very hard, I know, even though my mum is not dead, she is very much lost in her own world, the memories of me as a child are unreliable, and there are times when I so wish she was here to be with me and the children. I am not trying to divert attention to myself, I just want to say that I understand how hard it is, and how very, very unfair to go through such an experience like motherhood without having your mummy by your side. I like to think that I understand her better now though, and appreciate much more what she has done for me. Abiding with you, dear.

  2. It must be so hard, not having your mother here to guide you during this time. And the anniversary brings back so much, both pain of loss and the good memories. xx

What do you think?

