Vintage Snugli carrier – update

— Update at the bottom –

Since I wrote about the 1970’s vintage Snugli carrier I received for my baby shower last year (bought by my mom and sent to me by my sister and stepmom) and how I found the instructions for it, I have had several people contact me for the instructions. In fact, the email I received just the other day makes 9 requests total!

I am so happy that I was able to find the instructions for my own use. I definitely wouldn’t have realized a couple of things about the carrier without them. And I am thrilled that others have found my blog post about it and that I have been able to pass on the instructions.

So, if there’s anyone else out there who has a vintage Snugli carrier and needs the instructions, just email me at jsththr at gmail dot com and I’ll be glad to send them on to you.

December 15, 2014: To date, I have received well over 50 requests for the instructions! And I have gladly shared them! If you need the instructions, please don’t hesitate to leave a comment or email me at jsththr at gmail.

40 thoughts on “Vintage Snugli carrier – update

  1. Hi,
    I saved my Snugli from my daughter who was born in 1979. At the time, it was considered one of the premier baby carriers. This same daughter just had a baby, and while I did save the Snugli, I don’t have the instructions!
    It would be great I’d you could email me the directions, so she could use it with her daughter.
    Thanks so much,
    Ellen M

  2. Just Heather, There were no detailed instructions in my email either, although it really did not bother me because I was so thrilled to get even the diagram. I had planned to create my own pattern. If there are any patterns available do forward any you have. With a heart cull of thanks, Linda Johnson

  3. I would love the instructions also! Have my Snugli that I used from 1979-1985 and now have a granddaughter that can use it. Also, do you have any idea where I could find a replacement buckle for the strap. I am missing one. Will look at sewing supply stores, but not sure I will find an exact one. Thank you for your help!!

    • I have sent the instructions. I have no clue where to find a buckle. You could try contacting Ergo (current Snugli name) and see if they would have something, but I doubt it as they didn’t have anything when I called as the carrier was too old

      • Hi JustHeather
        Do you have a copy of the instructions? I would love to have them. I actually made my own Snugli in 1972 by copying one that I could not afford to buy. $40-$50 seemed out of my reach in those days. I have saved my Snugli and would like to give it to a young friend. Having the instructions to go with it would be most helpful..
        Thanks so much,
        Gretchen
        grr4325@sbcglobal.net

  4. Ooh… Yes please ๐Ÿ˜€ I think I’ve figured it out, yet I would like to be 100% sure before I take baby out for a walk ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. I also have a snuggli that my mother used with me and am looking for instructions. Would you please send them to me too if you have time?
    Thank you!

  6. Hi, I’ve just found a vintage snugli in a 2nd hand market and would love some help and instructions to know how to use it, if you still have them available? Thanks in advance for the help

  7. I have a Snugli that I made between 1971-1973. They were too expensive for us at that time, so I’m now ashamed to say I purchased one and made a pattern from it before returning it. I could send you the pattern as surely the patent has expired on the original and the item is not now being produced. I think you would not be able to tell it from the original. That being said, I would love to have a copy of the original directions to save along with our beloved Snugli. (No convenient copiers in those days).

    • I would like the pattern so I could make one for an expected grandchild. Can you send it to me or scan it and post it online somewhere? I have never seen as good a design as the original snugli.

  8. Hey everyone up there…. I am desperately looking for a vintage Snugli. I am so sorry I gave mine away… my first born, who lived in one 30 years ago, and his wife are expecting our first grandchild. When they shared the news, my first thought was of carrying him in the Snugli. I had two – a blue corduroy and a denim. My daughter-in-law thinks she’d want one… and anyway, I’d just enjoy it myself with our new baby! Does anyone out there have one they are ready to part with? Please email me – claudia_murphy@eastiron.monroe.edu

  9. I’m also looking for instructions for a 1980’s seersucker snugli baby carrier that I used and now want to pass on to my (pregnant)daughter. I’m trying to remember how to re-sew the darts….
    many thanks
    Julie

  10. If you would please email the instructions for the “vintage” Snugli, I would be most appreciative. Mine is from the 80’s and in pristine condition. I would like to have a copy of the instructions for my daughter who had her first baby in January. Many thanks!

  11. My mother-in-law kept the snugli she carried my husband & his brother in. She brought it over to me yesterday to use for our daughter. I would be grateful if you could please send me the instructions to Erin.richardson@live.ca. Thanks!

  12. Hi, I would love to get instruction too ๐Ÿ™‚ Just found out my mother carried me in one 34 years ago ๐Ÿ™‚ And still have it. Good as new.
    Greetings from Denmark
    Lea

  13. Would you please send me a copy of the instructions? I have mine from my first child (son) born in 1977, and my daughter is about to have a son. Just looking through the internet to find out if I could find instructions for it, and found your post. Thanks.

  14. Hi! Looking for corduroy snugli carrier instructions which I got in Vancouver BC and I found your blog by chance. I’d love a copy too, please. I’m also gonna try your perunarieska recipe yummy.
    Thank you very much
    Cheers from Spain

  15. Hello JustHeather!
    Instructions for use of the vintage Snugli 2 would be much apprecciated! I just washed the the one I used for my two children, and now would like to pass it on to my daughter for her first baby.
    Much thanks,
    Donna

What do you think?

