Note to my mom

Happy Mother’s day, Robbin. This is the second mother’s day since you passed and the first that I am a full fledged mom.

You were supposed to be here, to see my child and your grandchild. You were supposed to be here to give me advice, wanted and unwanted. You were supposed to be here to delight in seeing him smile (via Skype, but still), chatter his nonsense words (and later his first words and sentences), crawl around and couch-surf at only 8 months. You were supposed to be here so I can call you in the middle of the night (my middle of the night, your day time) when I’m frustrated and sometimes in tears that my little guy won’t sleep and I’m so exhausted. You were just supposed to be here.

But, you’re not here. And I miss you. Happy Mother’s day, Mom.

16 thoughts on “Note to my mom

  1. I’m so sorry. I wish your mom was there with you, cooing over her grandson. But I believe the ones we love are never truly gone nor are they far away. Hoping there are moments today where you feel her around you, wrapping all of you in love.

  2. I’m so sorry for your loss. I miss my Grandmother very much on Mother’s Day. I like to think that the mother’s who can’t be with us know we are thinking of them. I wish your mother could hug you and be with you and her grandson.

  3. I am so sorry. This is also my second Mother’s Day without my Mom and I still think on a daily basis as I see my son grow in his personality or when I am frustrated or lost that I want nothing more than to have her here. There’s so much to still take part in and yet there’s such a huge piece missing. *hugs*

What do you think?

