Awaiting MOBY

MOBY is short for Written In My Own Heart’s Blood, which is Diana Gabaldon‘s 8th book in the Outlander series. This book is supposed to be out later this year (fall? December?) and I am so excited for it to be released. I have been waiting for this book ever since I finished book seven. Ok, if I’m honest, I’ve been waiting for this book even before that!

My mom introduced me to this series. Years ago when I was visiting her, she gave me a paperback of Outlander (book one). I brought it home with me, stuck it on my shelf and there it sat. Some time later, my mom sent me a care package and in it was a second paperback of Outlander. By this point, I figured if she was sending me a second book, it must be good and I really should read it. So, I picked up the book and haven’t been able to let go of them since!!! Move over Anne Rice*, I now have Diana Gabaldon.

I have read the first 6 books (each one roughly 1 000 pages, plus or minus a bit) twice and book seven only once, so far. I normally don’t read books twice. There are just so many books out there and so little time. But right now, I am debating whether to read the entire series again before book 8 comes out or if I should just read book 7. In any case, at the least, I will read book 7 before book 8 comes out so I can refresh my memory. I am also quite sure that I will be reading the series again and probably again and again…

I am seriously very excited about book 8 coming out later this year. After waiting 6 years for this book to be written and published, it’s almost here! In the meantime, Diana Gabaldon has been posting snippets of the book on her FB feed several times a week. Usually I don’t read them, but one of them caught my eye today. Let’s just say, it was a good snippet and brought back great memories from the first book. It reminded me that my mom introduced me to this series. ❤ It also reminded me that she isn’t around to read this book or any further books that will be written. 😦 But the best thought that sticks with me, is that my mom (and dad) instilled a love a reading in me and for that they will always be with me.

*Anne Rice had been my favorite author since 1994 when my ex-boyfriend introduced me to her vampire books. She’s still up there among my favorites, but Diana Gabaldon is now number one.

One thought on “Awaiting MOBY

  1. I can’t wait to read MOBY by the end of the year either. Just like you I got hooked on the series rather late (in 2009), but then I read the first six books in a couple of months. I spent a lot of my free time that summer with my nose in one of the Outlander books and I was so glad that ECHO was set to be published that fall so I didn’t have to wait too long 🙂
    I’ve re-read all books (or at least favourite parts of them) multiple times by now, and at the moment I’m in the process of listening to all the audiobooks (I already listened to all but one before) to get myself ready for MOBY. I tend to skip parts of the written books when I’m re-reading and it’s more difficult to do that while listening to the audiobooks (in my car, mostly), so I’m sure to really refresh my memory of all of it.

    I can’t wait to find out what will happen to Jamie and Claire and John and William and Ian and Rachel and of course Bree and Jem and Roger… I love the Daily Lines and I don’t mind being spoiled by them, I just enjoy the tidbits of information way too much.

What do you think?

