Let’s talk about sex, baby

Let’s talk about you (Mr Siili) and me.

Yup, that’s right, it had been 7 months and one week* since Mr Siili and I had last had sex. And seeing that Paxlet is 5 months old today, we didn’t have sex the last 2 months of pregnancy either. (Not that I didn’t try, but it just didn’t work and was frankly too much effort on both our parts.)

I have to admit, it was all Mr Siili’s doing. While sex had crossed my mind at times recently, it didn’t do much more than that. My sex hormones just don’t seem up to it on their own yet. I sure hope that will change at some point. (When I’m done breast feeding?)

Sheesh, that’s a loooong time to go without spending intimate quality time with my husband. I never imagined our lack of a sex life would take that path. Even during our lowest of lows while TTC and IF treatments it never went that long in between times that we had sex. (Heck, not even when we were on different continents.) I hope that doesn’t happen again. But then again, we’ve never dealt with pregnancy or a baby before this either. We’ll have to make sure we don’t go this long without sex again.

* Yes, I mark in my day planner when I have sex. I have always done it. Just like I have always marked when my periods start.

4 thoughts on “Let’s talk about sex, baby

  1. Same problem over here! We stopped right around when I was 6 months pregnant I think. Though my problem is less about drive and more about the timing. I finally got my first period since the birth and it’s lasted like 4 weeks now and it’s been really heavy. UGH! So annoying. Also it was really uncomfortable wearing a tampon so now I’m just wearing pads — I hate to think how uncomfortable sex will be if tampons are that bad!

    • So far, I’ve only had a couple of days spotting around when Paxlet was 12 weeks, nothing more. And it wasn’t enough to even try using a tampon. I guess we’ll see what happens when the time comes. I love not having a period!!!!

  2. I find that it takes will to keep up with it after you have a baby. Let’s face it, you are tired, very tired, hormonal, breasts are leaking and just plain different, and the mood is not what it was before. You have to make a conscious effort to have a sex life again, otherwise you would just crash and sleep or veg and not move a finger. But after a while, you get your mojo back. 🙂
    For me, my motivation was that it got loads better after I gave birth. It was good before, but after that, what can I say, it is ridiculously good, like in the movies, he barely touches her and she starts moaning in pleasure. Nice perk, have to admit. 🙂

What do you think?

