Savored moments

I love my baby boy. I love him more than anything. But some times it is nice to do things on my own (while Mr Siili is at work and isn’t able to help). Such things as:

– going pee alone or without Paxlet fussing/screaming in the other room or bouncy chair,
– eating food while it is still hot/warm,
– eating food while both hands are free,
– sleeping in my bed sans Paxlet (yes, I know this is totally dependent on my choices),
– cleaning or doing any household chore in full without Paxlet in my arms or attached to me,
– take a shower longer than 3 minutes,
– go to sauna with Mr Siili, at the same time.

I know these things are minor and Paxlet is growing so fast. (It’s already noticeable!) But some days, it’s just a bit frustrating.
On the flip side, I love having my baby boy close for some of the following things:

-Paxlet snuggling and falling asleep on my chest,
– waking up to a smiling and cooing Paxlet,
– carrying/wearing Paxlet around so I can share everything with him,
– seeing his smile and being the cause of his laughter.

I’m loving it all, even when I’m a bit frazzled at the edges. If it weren’t for Paxlet, I’d never get to know or experience any of these things.

-JustHeather

6 thoughts on “Savored moments

  1. I think every new mom misses all those things and more. I promise you, it gets easier 🙂 Allow yourself to feel frustrated, but revel in the moment whenever you can, because years from now you will look back with nostalgia and will find it hard to remember how hard it was. Believe me!

  2. I did the same with George as a new mum. And then he grew up and let me tell you that I have come to consider it a priviledge when I get to go to the bathroom alone. And no one storms in with a MAMAAA and an unstoppable desire to hug me while on the loo. Perspective changes, man. Oh, how it changes…

  3. It will be a glorious day when I can go to the bathroom without an audience! I think I've forgotten what it feels like to take a shower for longer than 3 minutes. I suppose it is worth it though 🙂 I'm glad things are going so well for you, and I hope you can capture many magical moments since he is growing so fast.

What do you think?

