40 weeks, part 2

Well, I’m still at home, in one piece and no matter how you look at it now, Paxlet has been baking for 40 weeks.

Speaking of baking, I bought some lemons on Monday just in case I got the urge to bake something with them. And I did get the urge to bake! Yesterday, on the Technicolor Kitchen blog, after a bit of searching in her archives, I came across a Lemony nectarine cake recipe. It looked yummy, easy to make and I had all the ingredients. In fact, it only called for the zest of 2 lemons, so I still have the zest of 1 lemon and lemon juice of three lemons!

This cake was super easy to make and very tasty! Mr Siili and I ate half of it already last night, with a bit of ice cream, although it was yummy enough without it. I’ll be making this recipe again.
But, what am I going to do with the rest of my lemons?

Seeing as how Paxlet really can arrive at any day now, I feel like I should be doing some last minute things, but I’m not.
Here’s a quick list of some things I feel like I should be doing:

  • Wash some laundry, at least one load
  • Write something on Mr Siili’s birthday card seeing as his birthday is tomorrow
  • Start filling in Paxlet’s Baby Book that I bought a couple of weeks ago
  • Write the last Thank You-card for my Skype-video baby shower (it was a last minute addition, all the rest have been sent, except for the 2 that need addresses) 
  • Organize Paxlet’s clothes in the closet. Right now they are just piled in there
  • Continue with organizing and arranging boxes and other stuff from the move (3 months ago)
  • Re-check Paxlet’s coming home bag, I think I want to make a change or two

And this is what I am actually doing (with a sleeping cat on my limited lap space):

  • Reading & commenting on blogs
  • Playing Farkle (aka 10 000, a dice game) on FB
  • Thinking about getting out of the house, but I can’t be bothered to get dressed and it’s raining
  • Thinking about baking something else – What can I do with my lemons? Suggestions anyone?

7 thoughts on “40 weeks, part 2

  1. Oh my goodness! Sooooo close! It seems like just yesterday that you were sharing the fantastic news and now here we are at the best part 🙂 I haven't been keeping up with my blog reading lately, life just closes in and next thing you know it's next year *sigh*Thinking wonderful good luck thoughts and can't wait to "meet" little Paxlet xx

  2. Lemon cupcakes! Lemon-merengue pie?Do you eat fish? Make a lemon and white whine(non-alcoholic if you wish, although you can even have a class that close to birth) sauce.Oh I can't wait to hear Paxlet has arrived! 🙂 We're struggling with our baby project at the moment, but not too worried yet.

  3. Just a tip, if you're at all neurotic about having things organized, do it now! You will NOT have time after baby is born and if that sort of thing bugs you then it will drive you crazy in those first few weeks. I never finished my nursery and now 3 weeks in it's starting to drive me nuts! But there's just no time to do anything about it!

What do you think?

