Snugli carrier

— Update at the bottom —

One of the baby shower items that was sent from my family was a Snugli baby carrier.  As my stepmom tells me, my mom had used one of these with either one of or both of my younger siblings. And so my mom was quite excited to find one at the second hand shop.

This particular Snugli dates back to the 1970’s, when this company was still small and making each carrier by hand (on a sewing machine). The instructions weren’t sold with this, and I’m sure it isn’t difficult to use, but this carrier is going to be used to carry my baby and I want to know I am using it safely. Which, led me on an instruction finding chase.

First place I looked was Snugli’s website (now owned by Evenflo) to see if they had instructions there and if they didn’t have them online, was there a contact number or email for them that I could use. I did find a 1-800 number and I called them (via Skype, because even though I live in Finland, using Skype to call 1-800 numbers is free!). The lady who answered my call was nice, but because this Snugli model is so old, they don’t have any instructions for it and she wasn’t able to find them online (from their own personal site?). Also, this version of the Snugli is too different from any of the current models for the new models’ instructions to be of any help, so the lady said. I thanked the lady and said goodbye.

I next started Googling to see what I could find. It only took a couple of searches for me to find two potential hits. The first hit I found was a similar looking Snugli that had been sold on Etsy. I book marked this in order to come back to it later if I couldn’t find anything else. The second place I found was a chat forum post from earlier this year where a lady’s husband had found her a vintage Snugli at a second hand store, still with its original package and receipt! I signed up to the forum and private messaged the lady in hopes that she’d reply to me. And what do you know, in less than an hour she had replied and said she could scan the directions for me. How cool is that?!

I am now waiting for the instructions to arrive in my inbox. I’ll keep you updated!

Edited: I have received the instructions. If anyone out there needs them, let me know and I can forward the pdf to you.

December 15, 2014: To date, I have received well over 50 requests for the instructions! And I have gladly shared them! If you need the instructions, please don’t hesitate to leave a comment or email me at jsththr at gmail.

40 thoughts on “Snugli carrier

  1. I remember my mom using that exact carrier with my little sister. It is super cute, but she tells me that it didn't really work for her. It was hard to get my sister in without a total meltdown, and as soon as she thought she had everything all figured out my sister had a total blowout in her diaper. I don't know if my mom ever used it again. The story makes for a good laugh now, though!

  2. So did you get the instructions? I would love a copy if so. My mom handed hers down to me. I use much different wraps and carriers, now, but would love to "complete" this baby carrier with the manual to it! Even if its scanned and reprinted 🙂

  3. So did you get the instructions? I would love a copy if so. My mom handed hers down to me. I use much different wraps and carriers, now, but would love to "complete" this baby carrier with the manual to it! Even if its scanned and reprinted 🙂

  4. I did get the instructions!! The Snugli and how it works is awesome, especially how it grows along with the child. Send me and email at jsththr at gmail and I can forward them to you.

  5. May I also have a copy of the instructions or at least a weight limit? Mine looks very similar to this one, and I got it at a garage sale. Any information you could give me would be greatly appreciated!! Thank you!!

    • Breelyn, please email me at jsththr @ gmail.com and I can send you the instructions I have. I don’t remember the weight limit off the top of my head, but I know that this can be used well into toddlerhood years. My 1 year old (22lbs) fits in it just fine still.

  6. Hi, I also have a carrier like this. My mother bought it for me from a second hand shop. I would like to use it but I’m afraid a little bit. Is it good for a newborn? Can you please send me the instructions at iri_nela@yahoo.com. Thank you very much. Was this carrier good for you?

    • I loved using my vintage Snugli! I used it most when my guy was little. The inner pouch on the Snugli makes it perfect for a newborn. I’ve sent you the directions, let me know if you don’t get them.

  7. I got one if these vintage snugli’s from my Mom. She used it with me when I was a baby. Do you still have the instructions?

  8. I would love it if you could email me the instructions for the vintage snugli .. I received one as a gift and need to know the weight limits … Thanks so much

  9. Hi, that’s wonderful. I already thought I was the only one that used the carrier my mom used with me… I love it! But I would definitely like to see the instructions as my baby is growing and I’m not quite sure how to make it bigger… Thanks a lot!

  10. Hello,

    I would love the instructions for this carrier please. I just had one gifted to me and I am not sure how to wear it especilally for an infant.

    Thank you

  11. I carried 3 (grown now ) children in 3 Snugli’s in the 70’s and 80’s. I would love to find a vintage one for my grandson. Will need a lightweight fabric as we live in the South. If anyone wants to sell one , please contact me at hmhmce@gmail.com.

  12. I just found one exactly like yours at a thrift store for $1 lol I would love the instructions if you still have them! Kisha.greenman @gmail.com

  13. Hi I made one in 1982 and used it front and back until the boys were at least 2 years old. I loved it.
    Would you please send the pattern and instructions to me. I wasn’t to make one for my granddaughter. Thank You.

    uand.mer1@yahoo.com

  14. Hello 😀 Just picked up a green courdroy snugli at the Salvation army. (Thank heavens as I passed on one a year ago that had instructions.) But now this was does not. Lol I’d be thrilled if you still have them and could send them to me. Melelf @ live (dot) ca

  15. Hi! I also bought a snugli from a second hand store in Bulgaria. Would you please sned me the instructions – dany28bg@yahoo.fr. I`m wonderning if this type of carrier has something in common with the new models ergobaby and if it is good for the health of my 2 months old son.

  16. Do you have a pattern on how to make a snugli, or just directions on how to use it?
    If you have a pattern, I would love to have a copy to make one for our new granddaughter

What do you think?

