Friday Fun!

Edited: This was closed on April 6th and the winner announced.

On a fun note. I’ve been thinking of having a giveaway lately. I was thinking I’d do it once I reached 59 followers (just some random number that popped into my head), which I have reached and surpassed. But when it all comes down to it, I just really want to have a giveaway. So, here’s the announcement for my giveaway:

Anyone from anywhere around the world is eligible to sign-up for this giveaway. I’m not exactly sure what the prize will be yet, but most likely it’ll be a key chain/phone charm or a bookmark or something else I come up with. I’ll announce the winner in about a week’s time.
To enter, all you have to do is … tell me something. (And leave me some what to contact you.) Tell me something I might not have already known, about a book you love, your favorite food/dessert to make or bake, if you’re crafty and what you like to make. Really, just tell me something!

It’s Friday evening and I’m exhausted! (Especially after re-capping this week. Kudos to anyone who survived the reading of it.) And now it is time for me to crawl into bed.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 thoughts on “Friday Fun!

  1. How about some good book suggestions? If you are into paranormal books (young adult/vampire-like stuff…) you should check out the following authors – H.P Mallory – my fave of hers is Fire Burn and Cauldron Bubble. I'm on book 2 (Toil and Trouble) now. OR Amanda Hocking – Trylle Trilogy was great! Course, I'm also a huge fan of True Blood and have read books 1 & 2 of the Sookie Stackhouse books – however, I've NOT read ANY of the Twighlight series! lol.Anyways hope things are going well for you and your bean!!

  2. A cooking secret that took me a long time to realize. Most curries or strongly spiced foods, especially ones with a lot of vegetables, need a good dash of brown sugar or honey to really bring out the flavours. I hadn't realized this, even though some recipes might say a little sugar, but it really does make a huge difference!Oh, and roasted vegetables are sometimes yummy when you fill the bottom of the tray with meat stock and let them soak some of it in!

  3. Here from ICLW. I'm a middle school teacher, so much of my reading is in the young adult genre. Loved "The Future of Us" thanks to all its references to the early 90's. Was a good read even for an adult. Congratulations on your pregnancy! Wishing you well.

  4. I've heard the same about tomato-y foods, such as spaghetti sauce and such. I'll definitely keep sugar in mind for strongly spiced foods, although Mr Siili is quite Finnish in his food tastes (and stomach) so we don't eat too much spiced foods.I do love flavoring veggies with the meat stock, though! Yum.

  5. Thank you!I love the young adult section too! I know I get some funny looks from people when I mention some of the books I read, but some of them are great! I have also found that YA is easier to understand sometimes in Finnish.

  6. I spent my entire break today talking about baking and making goodies with a coworker. I mentioned your amazing banana bread recipe, of course, and now she's asking if she could get a copy. Would you mind if I passed it on?I read, for the first time in the history of me reading, a book so bad to start out with that I almost didn't finish it. I'm usually one of those stubborn "I'll finish it even if I don't like it" readers, but the first half of this book was just so dry I almost put it down. The second half… better but still meh. Not something I'd ever recommend – Lucky Jim is the name of it. It's from the 50's, and was on this list of 1001 books to read before you die, so I thought it was going to be like something groundbreakingly amazing. Not so much.

  7. Yeah, 1000 Years of Silence was horrible too. I finished it. Not worth finishing if you ask me. I forgot about that one. I have another book of his on my bookshelf, actually, that I keep avoiding even tho I hear it's a lot better… lol

  8. One book I remember really liking is Life Expectancy by Dean Koontz. I read it like 7 years ago so I don't remember a lot of it. What I do remember is I loved it! The main character's grandpa predicts a bunch of things about his life including 5 horrible days in his life right before he dies of a stroke and his grandson is born the same night. Some of it is crazy and some just beautiful. I am gonna have to read it again soon.And something I use a lot. To keep from crying while cutting onions, hold an unused match stick between your lips so the end you strike is under your nose. Your Hubby may look at you funny, but it really works!

  9. We'll see if I ever get through 1000 Years of Silence. There are so many other books out there that I want to read that it is hard to make me read ones that I don't enjoy. Yet, I feel semi-guilty for not finishing one I've started.

  10. Oooh! I used to devour Dean Koontz books at one point. At the same time I also read John Saul. They are both sort of the same types.I'll have to see if I can find some matches in our house to test this!

  11. Here from ICLW. I'm a middle school teacher, so much of my reading is in the young adult genre. Loved "The Future of Us" thanks to all its references to the early 90's. Was a good read even for an adult. Congratulations on your pregnancy! Wishing you well.

What do you think?

