Star light, star bright

Star light, star bright,
First star I see tonight.
Wish I may, wish I might,
Get the wish I wish tonight.

I sure won’t be seeing any stars tonight. But that is ok, it is finally snowing*. And I’m loving it!

For the last 3+ years, whenever I see my first star of the evening/night, I would say that little nursery rhyme and make my wish. I’m sure you can guess what my wish has been every. single. time. You, you guessed it. I’ve wished to get pregnant, have a baby or some sort of warm squishy feeling along those lines.

Lately though, the response to that little nursery rhyme has been different. I’ve been wishing for Mr Siili to find a job (that he likes) and that he is happy/satisfied/content. I don’t count them as two separate things, because I see them as going hand in hand.

It’s been almost a year since he had a job and a couple of months less since he got his doctorate. I can only imagine how difficult this is for him and the stress if not having a job. Especially with us hopefully getting a loan soon for our new place. I know it weighs on him something fierce. And for all that, I just want him feeling positive about things. I know it would make many life easier.

*Several hours later and the white stuff is still coming down.
JustHeather

7 thoughts on “Star light, star bright

  1. I've never seen snow – it's 30 degrees C here in South Australia at 9:30 in the morning!I echo your wish Heather, my partner spent so long working at low paying awful jobs, and has just come out the other side of a bullying and nasty workplace, and we are breathing a sigh of relief that he is now doing a job he loves, even if it does mean we are apart for a month or two. He must be so frustrated, and the longer it goes on the more you start to doubt yourself – I'm sure you will keep him strong and smiling in the meantime xx

  2. Oh so happy to hear there's snow there. I really hope there'll be at least a little when I get there for Christmas. Well, my parents live in Rovaniemi, but I hear it's been even worse in Lapland this year. Also! We were just doing Star Light song with my students this week, learning basic intervals, but we have slightly different wordsStar light, star bright,Brightest star I've seen tonight,Wish I may, wish I mighthave the wish I wish tonightIt's the one I've learned here in Ireland. Well, anyhow. Good luck with the job and everything!<3

  3. I've experienced 30C and in the morning. 🙂 Give me a month or so and I'll be wishing I had your weather instead of mine.Glad to hear your partner is in a better job now, but sorry it keeps you away for periods of time. I do agree with you though, happiness is much better than somethign you hate!

  4. Me too! It was getting quite dreary and dark here without the snow. And, it has been snowing quite a bit since yesterday evening. I'm loving it. I've not heard that version of the rhyme. I would think it is probably regional when the words are different like that.Have a good rest of Thursday and a great weekend. I'll be hopefully enjoying snow. :)JustHeather

  5. Ahh, snowy land, soon I will be there too =) I didn't realize your husband isn't working. Must be tough waiting for a good opportunity. Another kind of wait, eh. Enjoy the snow!

What do you think?

