Progesterone + pads = pain in the …

Ok, so I don’t really have any pain anywhere from either the progesterone or pads (or panty liners), but I liked the continuation of the P-alliteration. But it brings up the fact that I don’t like progesterone, nor pads!

I don’t think I have many side effects from the progesterone suppositories other than the very prominent sore breasts and hard nipples (is that one even progesterone related?). I feel quite lucky for this, but it still doesn’t mean I like having the progesterone leak out of me all day long and gush at least 3 times a day. This is just not sexy!

Which leads me to the issue of pads/panty liners. I have a much bigger dislike of pads than I do of progesterone, but when using progesterone suppositories, pads are a necessary evil. Imagine, if I didn’t have any pads to protect my panties and pants? I’d be one huge greasy leak. Just the thought of that makes me queasy (or maybe it was eating too much sweets today). But really, I just hate the fact of having something bulky and in between my legs all day long. (Hey, I’m not complaining about having something between my legs ever, it is just the pad thing that I’m complaining about. *wicked grin*) I’ve bought many different brands and types over the years and for the most part, most of them, especially the bulkier ones, just don’t stay nicely in place. Or, I am constantly reminded of their presense just because they are there. I have found one brand with very thin liners that I will use at the end of AF, but they are definitely not absorbant enough for progesterone. Pads just aren’t sexy either!

Does anyone else have such a dislike of pads as I do? I can’t be the only one out there that prefers a tampon almost any day over a pad. What about those of you who use pads regularly, is there any particular reason you’d use them over tampons? I mean, I’d prefer to not have to use tampons or pads for 9 months, but that’s another matter all together.
Please weigh in.

10 thoughts on “Progesterone + pads = pain in the …

  1. On another IF blog (I like Life of an Army Wife) they were talking about how the bleached fibers in tampons may contain toxins and how she was leaning toward greater pad use. I now buy pantiliners in bulk at the warehouse store (not sure if you have those)… it's okay — I'm definitely looking forward to being done w/ progesterone inserts. I forgot one last night and it freaked me out, but when I talked to my nurse, she said it was okay.

  2. I agree! Tampons all the way for me…but, I did recently start buying Kotex Pantyliners…the ones in brightly colored packages that I think are trying to be trendy. WTF? Anyway, they are actually pretty awesome. The first ones that I found stick and don't shift around.

  3. Ugh I absolutely HATE pads. Hate, hate hate. So glad we're doing progesterone in oil shots. Though I think the lack of leakage is the only bonus!!!

  4. I'm sure there is stuff in the tampons that aren't good for us, but that is the same with anything else in life. *big grin* I'm definitely more about being comfortable than worry about these little things.Good to hear forgetting a dose of progesterone isn't the end of it all. I purposefully 'forget' one once in a while because I just need a break from leakage.

  5. Hi,Thanks for commenting!I'm sure there is stuff in the tampons that aren't good for us, but that is the same with anything else in life. *big grin* I'm definitely more about being comfortable than worry about these little things.Good to hear forgetting a dose of progesterone isn't the end of it all. I purposefully 'forget' one once in a while because I just need a break from leakage.JustHeather

  6. Oh! I think I bought some of those exact ones when I was in the US this last summer. Very discreet, great for the tail-end of AF and they do stay in place! But, they are way too thin for progesterone leakage.

  7. I'm semi-bummed I won't even get the chance to try PIO. But, I am very thankful that I do have at lest 2 options for progesterone, as the first one they had me on I reacted too. Itchy and swollen lady bit parts is not fun.

  8. You've just reminded me that i have no symptoms this cycle. The last two fresh cycles I had to inject Pregnyl (hcg) every few days and that would make my boobs etc sore, but the progesterone gel – nothing. A quick squirt up the hoo-ha, it stays where it is, and that's it! Panty liners on the whole don't bother me though; still it's good not to have to use them.

  9. I had to wear pads after my miscarriage surgery and it reminded me all the more how much I hate hate hate that bulkiness between my legs, like you said. Plus it starts to smell (well, during your period, anyway, I don't have the progesterone experience to know what that's like).

What do you think?

