Adoption is not the be all and end all

AAaaaaaaaaaargh!

I have a coworker that knows some of our TTC journey, yet the last few times we have spoken about the topic, she keeps saying that we should just adopt, because then we’d get pregnant. It makes me want to scream!! This evening I tried telling her all the stuff that we IFers already know, but she just wouldn’t listen. Besides, I honestly don’t know if adoption would be an option for Mr Siili and I. Also, I am not at the point where I feel I could think about adoption. I still want to carry a baby in my own womb. I don’t know how else to get through to her without being totally down and out rude. I think my solution will just be to try and stay away from her as much as possible, but I have a feeling that isn’t going to fully work.

In other news, watching the 3 already released Twilight movies today was great! I can’t wait for the new movie on Thursday night / Friday morning. I also think the Synarela is doing something. I keep getting twitchy-twingy pangs in my ovaries.

Happy Father’s Day to my Dad! (It’s Father’s Day here in Finland.)

8 thoughts on “Adoption is not the be all and end all

  1. For some people it just doesn't click. I don't know if you've tried to tell her that you're not at that point yet… I want to punch most people who make the adoption comment. It's not easy. 😦

  2. So frustrating to deal with someone's arrogance, insensitivity and ignorance over such a precious and important thing for you! Try once more, be firm and explain she is having a detrimental effect on you by being so insensitive, and then take it up with your boss if you can.And good luck!

  3. How frustrating not getting through how you feel. And you are right, when telling people about IF-struggles they assume adoption is an option for all, but that's far from the truth. I'm not sure it would be for me/us either.

  4. Thank you for your comment. I have tried telling my coworker that adoption isn't easy, nor is it for everyone and that we're not there (and not sure if we ever will be), but she just doesn't get it. I'll just try not to talk to her about TTC anymore. And if the subject does come up, I think I'll be quite harsh with her as I just don't have patience with her on this subject anymore.

  5. No, of course she didn't adopt. And what irks me the most is she has gone on and on about how she didn't see herself as a mother nor was she sure she ever wanted kids and then she had 3 boys. Ugh!

  6. Thanks. I'm going to try and stay away from her for a while, I'm done explaining for now and with IVF underway and the start up of hormones being released into my system, I know I won't be sane and unemotional for a while (I can hope though).I won't bring it up with my boss, as this coworker is a friend-ish person also, and most of these conversations happen outside of work.

What do you think?

