October ICLW

IComLeavWe

Welcome to another round of  ICLW. Can you believe it is October already! And it’s two-thirds of the way over at that! Where has this year gone?! Wait, I know that answer: IVF #2, FET #1, summer break (from medical help TTC), a work trip to Shanghai, FET #2 and now waiting for IVF #2 starting next month.

I was thinking what I could say about myself for an ICLW intro that I haven’t said before here, here or here and I think I’ve got it! Here are some of my hopes and dreams that I want for myself.

At the top of my list:
– Get pregnant (and have a child or possibly even children).

And in no particular order:
– Learn a new language. I speak Finnish and remember some words/phrases in Spanish. I think I’d like to learn Russian or Chinese.

– Travel more. I still need to visit Scotland, Egypt, Hungary and China for a second time.

– Learn to knit as well as my mom did. I know that means I need to just pick up the needles and try some patterns, but I haven’t gotten there yet. For now, I’m just wearing the hats and scarves she made.

– Build an even better relationship with my husband, Mr Siili.

– Continue practicing Taekwon-do. I loved doing it, but with going to fertility treatments, I was concerned about hits and kicks to the stomach, so I’ve stopped for now. I will take it up again someday.

– Open my own coffee house / used bookstore. I think this will most likely stay unrealized, but that’s ok, it sure is fun dreaming about it.

What is one of your hopes or dreams?

It has taken me over 24 hours to write this post. I started yesterday while I was at work and just didn’t have time. By the time I got home from work, I was too tired to get on the computer and today (Saturday), I spent my morning trying to not get up and go take care of my friend’s two cats, then at the thrift store buying 9 items of clothing for 9€ and finally Mr Siili and I watched some tv shows, which leads me to just now, at 7:30 pm, to just finishing up this post. Life just gets in the way sometimes, but that is ok, most of the time.

5 thoughts on “October ICLW

  1. Here from ICLW – Aside from the kid thing (and wouldn't we all?), I dream of decorating my apartment. I'm finally in a place where I see myself for the next 5 years, but money, logistics and laziness are standing in my way.

  2. Happy ICLW!!! My hope is that my positive beta I got yesterday will stick around and turn into my first take home baby… And I hope that everyone struggling to have a child will find their baby soon. Hope your 2ww is going well! Thinking of you.

  3. Happy ICLW! As for me, getting pregnant is obviously dream #1. Other dreams include: Traveling with my husband more often, learning how to sew, finishing my Masters degree in June, and honestly at this point a day with no responsibilities where I can stay in my PJs would be amazing. 😉

  4. Happy ICLW!I would love to travel more, a yoga retreat in India has been a dream for long. And I love books, libraries and old book shops so that idea of yours is great. Who knows, maybe someday..

  5. Hi there-happy ICLW!Obviously getting pregnant is (still) on my list! Other than that, the other language is something that's been there a while. I go back and forth between learning Italian (my favorite place in the world, and such a beautiful language) and Spanish (which I know a bit of, and I'd actually probably use much more). They have always been difficult for me to pick up, which is why I tend to quit before I know any sort of conversation-ready language skill. Knitting is another one too, actually! I know basic crochet, but always go wrong on counting or some stitch somewhere before something is actually made. But there is an awesome yarn store near where I live, and signing up for a class is something I always think about doing.My other dream is to become really, really good at…something. I tend to just work all of the time, and really don't devote myself to any sort of hobby. I do love yoga, and pilates, and zumba, and would like to maybe become really really devoted to something again. That stuff has all taken a backseat during my try to get pregnant journey.I think I'd also like to start my own business at some point. I'm a bit weary of doing stuff that makes other people a LOT of money, and not really getting the credit or even opportunity for promotion associated with it. I'd love to love what I do, similar to Steve Jobs, and not just little pockets of satisfaction here and there.

What do you think?

