Acupuncture

This morning was my first acupuncture appointment, ever. I have no idea if it will actually help me to get pregnant, but the experience was interesting and I’m willing to still give it a go. Also, my back is feeling a bit better after this morning. Is it a placebo effect or is it really doing something?

The whole appointment took 1.5 hours. The first part of it was spent with the guy, MRJ, asking me questions about my health and body. And then he stuck me with 40-50 needles and warmed parts of me with a burning charcoal stick (it didn’t touch me, but was near my skin). I barely felt most of the needles going in. Usually when the needle went in, it was just a tapping feeling or maybe a tiny pinch. The few needles that I did feel weren’t that bad. The 2 worst ones were on the bottom of my feet and the one between my toes on my left foot, which are sensitive areas to begin with. Once the needles were in, I did feel pain in my left ankle area, but when MRJ touched it or put another needle in (I’m not sure which, maybe both), it did feel better. Although, now my ankle is feeling a bit strange. I realized I didn’t tell him about my ankle injury years ago that still bothers me. I wonder if that could effect anything? In any case, I’ll mention it to MRJ before we start next week’s session.

As for what my “diagnosis” is, it seems I have a cold and most lower part of my abdomen. Endometriosis is considered cold and wet and so is the fact that my hands and feet are usually cold. I also told MRJ about my asthma, to which he said it was considered a warm-issue, but most likely an infection (not a good warm in any case). The mucus that comes with the asthma is cold (I think). In any case, everything in the body is connected and from some of the symptoms I have (endo being a big one), my kidneys and spleen seem to be mostly effected, which are also part of the body that is quite needed to help with producing a pregnancy. My body is cold right now and a cold body (especially in the uterus/ovary area) cannot produce a warm life. So, we need to get my body warm again!

He told me that I shouldn’t eat cold foods such as yogurt, ice cream, salad and veggies or fruits without at least heating them up a bit first (the latter items, not the first two). I should also try to eat foods with spices in them, such as dried ginger (blech), clove, hot peppers, etc and also walnuts. Other foods also include salmon, some other fish and lamb. But I should stay away from foods that are salty. None of these food items are a must, but rather ideas on what types of things I should eat. So, after this evening’s salad (we have to get rid of the food we’d already bought) and that I did heat a bit, I’ll being trying to stick with warm foods. That means no more frozen juice! Or ice cream! And it’s hot right now.

I have one more session paid for (with a Groupon type deal) and then we’ll need to discuss the price and how many more times are needed. Mr Siili isn’t really on board with this or any other homeopathic/holistic approaches, but he doesn’t stop me from trying them if I think they will help.

Don’t forget my Reverse Birthday Gifting! Two more days to sign up.

12 thoughts on “Acupuncture

  1. Hi, thanks for visiting my blog and for the encouraging words. I also did acupuncture (had to stop because it was getting a little pricey for me), but I loved it! It sounds like we have a similar situation going on – the acupuncturist said I had spleen and kidney deficiency (cold hands and feet). My DH didn't really think it would help, but overall, I felt better. Now I'm trying to fit it into our budget for next cycle. Good luck to you! CarmelaICLW #123

  2. Thank you for visiting my blog! I had acupuncture too at various stages and was told I was 'cold' also, interesting to read your experience. I wish you all the best and will follow you from now on 🙂

  3. Thanks for stopping by my blog. I did acupuncture for about four months last year and briefly this summer before the IVF. I liked it and found it relaxing. My acupuncturist also emphasized staying away from cold things–I eventually began to really like plain hot water. I did miss ice cream though… Hope you find it helpful.

  4. Thanks for stopping by my blog! I did acupuncture for about 6 months; my clinic offered packages that were ten visits for $750, discounted when you bought packets. I stopped mainly because it was time consuming (45 minute drive 30 minute appointment, 45 minute drive home), and I was starting IVF. My doctor actually said it was OK to continue doing acupuncture, but she didn't want me taking herbs as it might interfere with estrogen levels.They also told me to avoid cold foods, and also Bikram Yoga-they didn't want me around hot stuff, told me not to eat hot or spicy foods. It definitely helped with my menstrual cycle, and I've even considered starting again because it's supposed to help with implantation and IVF.All my best to you!

  5. I'm a huge fan of acupuncture! I believe it increases your blood flow and helps your body process all the IF drugs. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do!

  6. Hi, thanks for your comment on my blog. I have my first accupuncture appointment on Monday. At this point, we have tried a lot of things and accupuncture even though its really expensive, it's less expensive than IUI or IVF. I hope it helps us both!! Good luck warming your body up!!

  7. Hi Heather…Thanks for stopping by my blog! I tried acupuncture at the end of my last FET cycle (probably too late but I was desperate!!) I am planning on going in next week as I really, really liked it (even though I was freaked out initially!) I am hopeful that it helps but if nothing else I will enjoy feeling relaxed! Sounds like your person did Moxa on you…our clinic gave us moxa sticks to do at home. I always did it after my PIO shots, gave me something to look forward to. I'll look forward to following your journey!

  8. I've been doing acupuncture for 4 months and it hasn't gotten me pregnant yet but I really like it. It's of of the most expensive things I do but I feel it's definitely worth it. Good luck with it and give it at least a few months 🙂

  9. Thank you for your very sweet comment on my blog!I'm so sorry to hear about the struggles you have had. What a long and hard road you've been on. I will keep you in my prayers and hope that things work out for you 🙂 I was really interested to read about your experience with acupuncture – I believe in doing anything you can to help yourself. It certainly won't hurt!Big hugs and I'm looking forward to following your journey!

What do you think?

