Apple-oat pancakes, Finnish style and a quick work update

I made some omena-kaurapannarit (apple-oat pancakes) this last weekend. The link and recipe is in Finnish, but upon request, I’ll translate it for you all. I didn’t follow the recipe to a tee, because we didn’t have any oat-milk, but they were yummy with regular milk!

Omena-kaurapannarit

Makes 15 pancakes

Ingredients

2 apples
1 1/4 cup (3 dl) oat milk
2 eggs
2 cups (5 dl) flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 cup (1/5 dl) sugar
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 tablespoons oil

Some oil for frying

Directions

Wash and grate the apples. Mix the oat milk, eggs and add to the mixed dry ingredients. Season with the sugar and salt. Add the grated apple and oil. Mix into a dough. Let the batter swell for half an hour at room temperature.

Make small pancakes by frying the batter in oil in a small frying (crepe/pancake) pan.  Serve with jam and whipped soy- or vanilla sauce.

My notes: I made quite a few more than 15 pancakes. I guess mine must have been smaller (and thinner) than in the picture.
Also, I have no idea why it says to “season” with the sugar and salt. Maybe if you don’t want to add as much as the recipe calls for?

*****

I realized part of the reason I am reacting so emphatically to my co-workers’ bitch fests is that I am PMSing in a major way. (Hello AF.) That has helped me to calm down and step away from the situation a bit.

Also, I made an informal meeting with a former team leader, who I like very much and trust her words. She also helped talk me away from the ledge of crazy. She understands where I was coming from, especially knowing the people who were involved. This quick meeting also gave me a chance to ask her about one of the positions I was interested in, as she was the contact person for it. I told her my concern about working only part time right now and how that might affect me getting a new position. (Legally I am within my writes to work less hours until Paxlet starts 3rd grade.) She said then she would have been up for the chopping block also, as she is working shorter hours too. She went on to tell me some of the several factors that they are looking at when deciding who will be accepted for these new positions and how many hours you work (or don’t work) is not one of them. I felt so much better after talking to her!

And, minutes before I went to this meeting, I got an email for my “recruitment discussion”. It’s on Monday! Not Wednesday the 13th, when I have my dentist appointment. Phew. Please think great communication and interviewing thoughts for me for Monday!

What do you think?

